ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

Imperial ARM

United KingdomUnited Kingdom

About the Team

The Imperial College is starting at CYBATHLON with teams in different disciplines. Scientists from the Neuromechanics and Rehabilitation Technology group led by Prof. Dario Farina, as well as industrial partners, and a dedicated pilot are working together to develop a new arm prosthesis. PhD Student Irene Mendez is managing the team which was founded in 2019. "We want to build an arm prosthesis that empowers users and satisfies their everyday needs. Our pilot Conrad helps us a lot, together we have learned a lot and through his motivating and driving nature he makes our work a joyful experience,” she says. The team members are developing an integrated solution that combines sensing, control and mechatronics to provide a sense of natural movement. “We believe in Conrad’s performance; he learns quickly and has the potential to reach one of the top ranks," Irene closes.

Pilot - Conrad Christian Bona

“Since I was a little boy, the research around prostheses has involved me. As a result, I was always looking for more functionality and was often disappointed,” says Conrad Bona who was born without a left hand. At CYBATHLON, he participates with a prototype developed by scientists of the Imperial College. “In my everyday life, I can’t use this prosthesis because it is only a prototype and not yet approved. But I would if I could. The London-based Canadian is running a small investment fund. He is fascinated by being part of a development team. “It’s great to see how an idea on paper turns into a prototype I can test. I like our dynamic nature, as a multinational team we bring together many different disciplines which add up perfectly,” he enthuses.

Conrad used to stand in football stadiums regularly and is longing to breathe the air of competition again. "I am looking forward to d-day where perfect interaction is essential. For me, CYBATHLON is a unique competition, scientists are asked to solve a problem and cast new light on it. This leads to innovative and interesting approaches and finally to solutions, which benefit me and everyone else like me."

Get in touch

Follow this team
Imperial ARM
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Conrad Christian Bona

Conrad Christian Bona

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Imperial ARM - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

Imperial ARM

Vereinigtes KönigreichVereinigtes Königreich

Über das Team

Das Imperial College startet mit Teams in verschiedenen Disziplinen am CYBATHLON. Wissenschaftler aus der Gruppe Neuromechanik und Rehabilitationstechnik unter der Leitung von Prof. Dario Farina sowie Industriepartnern und ein engagierter Pilot arbeiten gemeinsam an der Entwicklung einer neuen Armprothese. Doktorandin Irene Mendez leitet das Team, welches 2019 gebildet wurde. «Wir möchten eine Armprothese bauen, welche die Möglichkeiten der Nutzer erweitert und ihre alltäglichen Bedürfnisse befriedigt. Unser Pilot Conrad hilft uns sehr dabei, gemeinsam haben wir viel gelernt. Mit seiner motivierenden und antreibenden Art macht er aus dem Ganzen ein tolles Erlebnis», beschreibt Irene die Zusammenarbeit in der Gruppe. Die Beteiligten entwickelten eine integrierte Lösung, die das Abtasten, die Steuerung und Mechatronik kombiniert, um ein Gefühl natürlicher Bewegung zu vermitteln. «Wir glauben an Conrads Leistung, er lernt schnell und hat das Potential, einen der vorderen Ränge zu erreichen», schliesst Irene.

Pilot - Conrad Christian Bona

«Seit ich ein kleiner Junge war, beschäftigt mich die Entwicklung von Prothesen. Immer wieder suchte ich nach mehr Funktionalität, immer wieder wurde ich enttäuscht», hält Conrad Bona fest, der ohne linke Hand zur Welt kam. Am CYBATHLON nimmt er mit einem Prototyp von Wissenschaftlern des Imperial College teil. «Im Alltag darf ich diese Prothese leider nicht benutzen, weil sie noch nicht zugelassen ist. Wenn ich könnte, würde ich sie immer tragen.» Der in London wohnende Kanadier leitet einen kleinen Investment Fond. Teil eines CYBATHLON Teams zu sein, fasziniert ihn: «Es ist toll, zu sehen, wie aus einer Idee auf Papier ein Prototyp wird, den ich testen kann. Ich mag unsere dynamische Art und wie wir als multinationales Team viele verschiedene Disziplinen zusammenbringen, die sich perfekt ergänzen.»

Früher stand Conrad regelmässig in Fussballstadien auf den Zuschauerrängen. Er freut sich sehr, am CYBATHLON wieder einmal Wettkampfluft zu atmen. «Ich bin gespannt auf den Tag X, an dem es auf das perfekte Zusammenspiel ankommt. CYBATHLON ist für mich ein einzigartiger Wettkampf, Wissenschaftler werden aufgefordert ein Problem zu lösen und in neuem Licht zu beleuchten. Das führt zu innovativen und interessanten Lösungsansätzen, die mir und allen anderen wie mir zugutekommen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
Imperial ARM
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Imperial ARM - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang