LEG / Powered Leg Prosthesis Race

NeuroLegs

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

About the Team

"In our opinion, the lack of sensory feedback is a major factor why many don’t want to use prostheses. By providing this feedback, we want to increase confidence in the mobility of and acceptance for prostheses." explains Giacomo Valle. He is the manager of the Swiss Neurolegs team from ETH Zurich. This group has set itself the goal of restoring the superficial sensory feedback for the missing leg by means of portable sensors in the shoes. It is a non-invasive and non-permanent technical approach that can be applied to any commercially available solution.

Neuroleg is made up of scientists, researchers and students from different fields, and by combining forces they want to create a tool that can effectively help the user in everyday life. By participating at CYBATHLON the team wants to get closer to that goal: "CYBATHLON is driving research forward. But what is crucial for us is that it’s about people with disabilities in everyday life, it’s not an athletic competition nor is it about top athletes.”

Pilot – Stefan Poth

"I left my office for a tour on my Harley, expecting to return to work the next morning – but I didn't return until eight months later." Stefan recalls. In a city, a car suddenly drove out of a queue into his lane, hit him on his motorbike and thereby crushed his left leg. Relatively quickly, Stefan found a way to cope with his new situation, including the fact that the accident was someone else's fault: "I lost a lot of blood and was unstable at first. My leg had to be amputated at the knee. I quickly overcame the phase of ‘could it have gone differently?’ and learned to accept my fate."

Since 1996 Stefan has been an entrepreneur and headhunter in marketing and communication. He often acts as a consultant and mentor for people who are looking for a career change. In his spare time, he plays wheelchair tennis. He was a tennis player before but getting the timing right with his wheelchair was a new challenge. "The accident is one of the reasons why I‘m so active today. I enjoy tackling and achieving new things and being able to determine my own life. That's one of the reasons why I'm competing at CYBATHLON." Stefan continues.

Get in touch

Follow this team
NeuroLegs
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Stefan Poth

Stefan Poth

The Team

Giacomo Valle

Giacomo Valle

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    NeuroLegs - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    NeuroLegs - Stefan Poth

End of page: Go to top of page

LEG / Hindernisparcours mit Beinprothesen

NeuroLegs

SchweizSchweiz

Über das Team

«Unserer Ansicht nach ist der Mangel an sensorischem Feedback ein Hauptfaktor für Menschen, die auf Prothesen verzichten. Indem wir diese Rückmeldung bereitstellen, wollen wir das Vertrauen in die Mobilität der und die Akzeptanz für Prothesen erhöhen.» erklärt Giacomo Valle. Er leitet das Schweizer Team Neurolegs von der ETH Zürich. Dieses hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die oberflächliche, sensorische Rückmeldung für das fehlende Bein durch tragbare Sensoren in den Schuhen wiederherzustellen. Es handelt sich um einen nicht-invasiven und nicht permanenten technischen Ansatz, der auf jede handelsübliche Lösung angewendet werden kann.

Neuroleg bestehet aus Wissenschaftlern, Forschern und Studenten aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Indem sie ihr Wissen verbinden, möchten sie ein Hilfsmittel erschaffen, das den Nutzenden im Alltag effektiv behilflich ist. Diesem Ziel will das Team auch durch die Teilnahme am CYBATHLON näherkommen, betont Valle: «Durch den CYBATHLON wird die Forschung vorangetrieben. Zentral dabei ist für uns, dass es um das alltägliche Leben geht und nicht um einen sportlichen Wettkampf oder Top-Athleten.»

Pilot – Stefan Poth

«Ich verliess mein Office für eine Tour mit meiner Harley und ging davon aus, am nächsten Morgen wieder zur Arbeit zu kommen – doch kehrte ich erst acht Monate später zurück.» erinnert sich Stefan. Innerorts fuhr ein Auto aus der Kolonne auf seine Spur und sein Bein wurde eingequetscht. Stefan konnte relativ schnell und gut mit seiner Situation umgehen, auch mit der Tatsache, dass der Unfall fremdverschuldet war: «Ich habe viel Blut verloren und war zuerst instabil, mein Bein musste oberhalb des Knies amputiert werden. Die Phase ‘hätte es anders kommen können?’, habe ich schnell überwunden, und gelernt die Endgültigkeit meines Schicksals zu akzeptieren.»

Seit 1996 ist Stefan Unternehmer und Headhunter im Marketing- und Kommunikationsbereich. Oft agiert er auch als Berater und Mentor für Menschen, die eine berufliche Veränderung suchen. In seiner Freizeit spielt er Rollstuhltennis. Tennis spielte er bereits vor dem Unfall, aber das Timing mit dem Rollstuhl richtig einzuschätzen war eine neue Herausforderung. «Der Unfall ist mit ein Grund, weshalb ich heute so aktiv bin. Es mach mir Spass neue Dinge anzupacken, zu erreichen und mein Leben selbst bestimmen zu können. Deshalb starte ich auch am CYBATHLON.» so Stefan.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
NeuroLegs
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    NeuroLegs - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    NeuroLegs - Stefan Poth

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang