FES / Functional Electrical Stimulation Bike Race

POLIMIRehaMove

ItalyItaly

About the Team

Since 2019, a group of scientists and students at the Politecnico di Milano (POLIMI) has been researching technological applications that enable paraplegics to pursue physical activities. "We can use a concrete project to show master students how to achieve a goal together and what it takes to do so," explains Emilia Ambrosini, assistant professor at POLIMI. She leads the POLIMIRehaMove team, with which pilot Andrea Gatti participates in CYBATHLON 2020. He will ride the RehaMove 3 FES Cycling System which the team has received from health technology company HASOMED.

The aim of the POLIMIRehaMove team is to make paraplegics, their relatives, politicians and society aware of the importance of physical activity for people with complete paraplegia. Emilia Ambrosini specifies: "Our experience shows that physical activity is central to significantly improving the quality of life and self-esteem of affected persons. The opportunity should be available to everyone and should also be offered in public fitness centers, for example".

Pilot - Andrea Gatti

In March 2019, Andrea Gatti was still riding his conventional bike, then the accident happened. Since then he is paraplegic. Less than a year after his accident, the Italian began training with the FES bike. "I have always been into sports and competitive, but never on a professional level. The FES bike now gives me a new incentive to train once or twice a week". The Italian lives in Como with his wife and two daughters. Since February 2020 he is part of the POLIMIRehaMove team. "I am happy to be part of the project and thus to be able to support the research. I hope that the trike will become cheaper and easier to use. In daily life there are still many obstacles and difficulties. I hope that thanks to projects such as CYBATHLON, science will be able to further improve our quality of life in the future and that one day it will be possible for people to walk again after such a serious accident", Andrea explains.

Get in touch

Become a fan of this team!
POLIMIRehaMove
Visit website

Share this team

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    POLIMIRehaMove - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

FES / Fahrradrennen mit elektrischer Muskelstimulation

POLIMIRehaMove

ItalienItalien

Über das Team

Seit 2019 forscht eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern und Studierenden am Politecnico di Milano (POLIMI) an der Entwicklung technologischer Anwendungen, die es Querschnittgelähmten ermöglichen, physischen Aktivitäten nachzugehen. «Den Master-Studierenden können wir an einem konkreten Projekt zeigen, wie man gemeinsam ein Ziel erreicht und was es dazu braucht», erklärt Emilia Ambrosini, Assistenzprofessorin am POLIMI. Sie leitet das Team POLIMIRehaMove, mit welchem Pilot Andrea Gatti am CYBATHLON 2020 teilnimmt. Vom Medizintechnikunternehmen HASOMED hat die Gruppe das RehaMove 3 FES Cycling System erhalten.

Ziel des Teams POLIMIRehaMove ist, Querschnittgelähmte, deren Angehörige, die Politik und die Gesellschaft dafür zu sensibilisieren, wie wichtig es ist, dass sich Menschen mit vollständiger Querschnittlähmung körperlich betätigen können. Emilia Ambrosini präzisiert: «Unsere Erfahrungen zeigen, dass die physische Aktivität zentral ist, um die Lebensqualität und das Selbstwertgefühl betroffener Personen markant zu steigern. Die Möglichkeit sollte allen zur Verfügung stehen und beispielsweise auch in Öffentlichen Fitnesscentern angeboten werden.»

Pilot - Andrea Gatti

Im März 2019 fuhr Andrea Gatti noch ganz normal Fahrrad, dann passierte der Unfall. Seither ist er querschnittgelähmt. Ein knappes Jahr nach seinem Unfall begann der Italiener mit dem FES Bike zu trainieren. «Ich war schon immer sportlich und der kompetitive Typ, auch wenn nie auf professioneller Ebene. Das FES-Biken gibt mir nun neuen Anreiz, ein-, bis zweimal wöchentlich zu trainieren.» Der Italiener lebt zusammen mit seiner Frau und zwei Töchtern in Como. Seit Februar 2020 ist er Teil des Teams POLIMIRehaMove. «Ich bin glücklich Teil des Projekts zu sein und so die Forschungen unterstützen zu können. Ich wünsche mir, dass das Trike günstiger und einfacher im Gebrauch wird. Im täglichen Leben gibt es noch immer viele Barrieren und Schwierigkeiten. Ich hoffe, dass die Wissenschaft auch dank Projekten wie dem CYBATHLON zukünftig unsere Lebensqualität weiter verbessern kann und dass es eines Tages möglich ist, dass die Menschen nach so einem schweren Unfall wieder gehen können», erklärt Andrea.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
POLIMIRehaMove
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    POLIMIRehaMove - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang