ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

Smart ArM

FranceFrance

About the Team

The tasks of the CYBATHLON are particularly difficult for the Smart ArM team and its pilot Christophe Huchet. Unlike many other participants, he has to control a prosthesis that is attached to the upper arm. Such prostheses are the specialty of Smart ArM. Their device is characterized by an innovative control architecture and the sensomotoric control strategy linked to it. "Our prosthesis reacts to body movements without the user having to send a specific command," explains team manager Nathanael Jarrasse. The Smart ArM team brings together researchers from the Institute of Intelligent Systems and Robotics (ISIR) at the Sorbonne university in Paris, the Institute of Human Movement Sciences (ISM) at the University of Aix-Marseille and clinicians from the Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation in Nancy.

"The biggest challenge for us at CYBATHLON is the task in which Christophe has to hammer in a nail," emphasizes Nathanael, "to execute this movement precisely with a prosthetic elbow is complex. We hope that we will be able to manage such dynamic movements more efficiently in the future". The pilot's sporting past is a plus for the team, Nathanael states: "Christophe is a great asset to the team with his competition experience, exceptional energy and enthusiasm.”

Pilot - Christophe Huchet

"As a swimmer, I won national championships several times in both normal and Paralympic disciplines," says Christophe Huchet, who was born without his right forearm and elbow. In 1995, he was disqualified for the first time at a swimming competition for non-disabled people because he had’t touched the end of the lane with both hands. This kept repeating itself dozens of times until the rules were changed. Christophe had fought through legal channels to ensure that people with a disability could participate in non-Paralympic competitions without being disadvantaged by the rules.

"The CYBATHLON brings me back to the competition. But this one is for the common good, it’s about advancing technology and doing something for humanity". In everyday life Christophe does not wear a prosthesis – he was born with one arm and gets along well without a second one. Nevertheless, he is taking on the challenge of operating a prosthesis with two joints – elbow and wrist – which is even more difficult than controlling a forearm prosthesis with only one joint. "The Smart ArmM is easy to operate and control," the Frenchman says. With his participation in CYBATHLON, he wants to bring together people with and without disabilities. "With the Team Smart ArM I have the chance to make a valuable contribution."

Get in touch

Follow this team
Smart ArM
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Christophe Huchet

Christophe Huchet

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Smart ArM - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

Smart ArM

FrankreichFrankreich

Über das Team

Die Aufgaben des CYBATHLON-Parcours sind für das Team Smart ArM und dessen Piloten Christophe Huchet besonders schwierig. Anders als viele andere Teilnehmende, muss er eine Prothese kontrollieren, die bereits am Oberarm beginnt. Solche sind die Spezialität von Smart ArM. Ihre Armprothese zeichnet sich durch eine innovative Kontroll-Architektur und der damit verbundenen sensomotorischen Kontrollstrategie aus. «Unsere Prothese reagiert auf Körperbewegungen, ohne dass der Nutzer einen spezifischen Befehl senden muss», erklärt Teammanager Nathanael Jarrasse. Das Team Smart ArM vereint Forscher vom Institut für intelligente Systeme und Robotik (ISIR) der Pariser Sorbonne, dem Institut für Bewegungswissenschaften (ISM) der Universität Aix-Marseille und Kliniker vom Institut für Physikalische Medizin und Rehabilitation in Nancy.

«Die grösste Herausforderung am CYBATHLON ist für uns die Aufgabe, in der Christophe einen Nagel einschlagen muss.», betont Nathanael, «diese Bewegung mit einem prothetischen Ellbogen präzise auszuführen, ist komplex. Wir hoffen, dass wir in Zukunft solche dynamischen Bewegungen effizienter bewältigen können.» Die sportliche Vergangenheit des Piloten ist ein Pluspunkt für das Team, ist Teammanager Nathanael überzeugt. «Christophe bringt sich bei uns im Team ein und ist mit seiner Wettkampferfahrung, seiner aussergewöhnlichen Energie und seinem Enthusiasmus eine grosse Bereicherung.»

Pilot - Christophe Huchet

«Als Schwimmer gewann ich sowohl in normalen wie in paralympischen Disziplinen mehrmals nationale Meisterschaften», erzählt Christophe Huchet, der ohne seinen rechten Vorderarm und Ellbogen geboren wurde. 1995 wurde er zum ersten Mal an einem Schwimmwettkampf für Nichtbehinderte disqualifiziert, weil er das Ende der Bahn nicht mit beiden Händen berührt hatte. Dies wiederholte sich in der Folge mehrere Dutzend Mal, bis die Regeln angepasst wurden. Christophe hatte auf rechtlichem Weg dafür gekämpft, dass Menschen mit einer Behinderung an nicht-paralympischen Wettkämpfen teilnehmen können, ohne durch das Reglement benachteiligt zu werden.

«Der CYBATHLON bringt mich zurück zum Wettkampf. Doch hier geht es um einen gemeinnützigen Zweck, es geht darum die Technologie voranzutreiben und etwas für die Menschheit zu tun.» Im Alltag trägt Christophe keine Prothese – er ist mit einem Arm geboren und braucht keinen zweiten. Dennoch stellt er sich der Herausforderung, eine Prothese mit zwei Gelenken – Ellbogen und Handgelenk – zu bedienen, was noch schwieriger ist, als eine Unterarmprothese mit nur einem Gelenk. «Der Smart ArM ist einfach zu bedienen und zu kontrollieren», findet der Franzose. Mit seiner Teilnahme am CYBATHLON will er die Menschen mit und jene ohne Behinderung zusammenbringen. «Mit dem Team Smart ArM habe ich die Chance, einen wertvollen Beitrag zu leisten.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
Smart ArM
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Smart ArM - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang