EXO / Powered Exoskeleton Race

Angel Robotics 1

South KoreaSouth Korea

About the Team

Angel Robotics have a mission: "We want to be the angels for those who need our technology. They shall be able to wander through life independently and autonomously". Accordingly, the team motivation and inspiration to create a potentially life-changing tool is high: "The pilots are the center of our team. Now, a short time ahead of CYBATHLON, we invest a lot of time and energy in the preparation, but when we see the development, progress and joy of our pilots, this investment is surely worthwhile and fills our hearts with happiness. We spend a lot of time with the pilots, supporting them on their path of life as mentors," explains one of the team managers Jungsu Choi.

In 2016, the team participated in CYBATHLON under the name SG Mechatronics and finished third with pilot Kim Byeong-Uk, after which the start-up Angel Robotics was founded. The team includes engineers and rehabilitation physicians. Their combined knowledge and the latest technology of both areas went into the WalkOn Suit exoskeleton. Thanks to the success at CYBATHLON four years ago, the team was able to expand and will start in 2020 with one female coached by teamleader Hanseung Woo and one male pilot managed by teamleader Jungsu Choi.

Pilot - Byeong-Uk Kim

"When I first heard about CYBATHLON five years ago, I couldn't imagine walking with a robot, let alone climbing stairs. It is my biggest wish to be able to walk again. For 18 years I couldn't do so, but since I joined the team, the exoskeleton has opened up a new life, with it I can finally walk again and my dream has suddenly become more realistic," Kim says full of joy. Since an accident more than 20 years ago, the Korean has had a complete paralysis. He is working as a researcher and is also involved in the Angel Robotics team. His goal this year is to improve on the performance of 2016 – meaning, he has to beat 3rd place: "The biggest challenge is the fight with myself. I train five times a week and I want to win this year".

Get in touch

Follow this team
Angel Robotics
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Byeong-Uk Kim

Byeong-Uk Kim

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Angel Robotics 1 - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Angel Robotics - Byeong-Uk Kim

End of page: Go to top of page

EXO / Parcours mit robotischen Exoskeletten

Angel Robotics 1

SüdkoreaSüdkorea

Über das Team

Angel Robotics haben eine Mission: «Wir möchten die Engel für diejenigen sein, die ihre Technologie benötigen. Die Personen sollen selbstständig und unabhängig durchs Leben gehen können.» Entsprechend hoch ist die Teammotivation und Inspiration ein potentiell lebensveränderndes Hilfsmittel zu schaffen. «Die Piloten sind das Zentrum unseres Teams. Jetzt, kurz vor dem CYBATHLON, investieren wir sehr viel Zeit und Energie in die Vorbereitung. Doch wenn wir ihre Entwicklung, Fortschritte und Freude sehen, lohnt sich diese Investition allemal und erfüllt auch unser Herz mit Glück. Wir verbringen viel Zeit mit den Piloten und unterstützen sie auf ihrem Lebensweg als Mentoren.» erläutert Jungsu Choi einer der Teammanager.

2016 nahm das Team noch unter dem Namen SG Mechatronics am CYBATHLON teil und belegte mit Pilot Kim Byeong-Uk Rang 3. Daraufhin wurde das Start-up Angel Robotics Co., Ltd. gegründet. Dem Team gehören Ingenieure und Rehabilitationsärzte an. Ihr vereintes Wissen und die neuste Technologie aus beiden Gebeiten steckt im Exoskelett  WalkOn Suit. Dank des Erfolges am CYBATHLON vor vier Jahren konnte das Team erweitert werden und startet 2020 mit einer Pilotin unter der Teamleitung von Hanseung Woo und einem Piloten unter dem Management von Jungsu Choi.

Pilot - Byeong Uk Kim

«Als ich vom CYBATHLON vor fünf Jahren zum ersten Mal hörte, konnte ich mir nicht vorstellen mit einem Roboter zu gehen oder gar Treppen zu steigen. Es ist mein grösster Wunsch wieder gehen zu können. 18 Jahre lang konnte ich nicht gehen, doch seit ich im Team bin und das Exoskelett nutzen kann, hat ein neues Leben begonnen: Mit dem Exoskelett kann ich endlich wieder laufen und mein Traum ist plötzlich realistischer geworden.» erzählt Kim Byeong-Uk begeistert. Seit einem Unfall vor über 20 Jahren hat der Koreaner eine komplette Paralyse, er arbeitet als Forscher und ist auch im Angel Robotics Team in die Entwicklung des Exoskeletts involviert. Sein Ziel ist es, am CYBATHLON 2020 die Leistung von 2016 zu verbessern – damals wurde er Dritter: «Die grösste Herausforderung ist der Kampf mit mir selbst. Ich trainiere fünfmal wöchentlich und will dieses Jahr gewinnen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
Angel Robotics
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Angel Robotics 1 - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Angel Robotics - Byeong-Uk Kim

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang