FES / Functional Electrical Stimulation Bike Race

BFH-CybaTrike

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

About the Team

A bike that makes it possible for paraplegics to go on bike tours, this is the goal of Kenneth Hunt and his team at Bern University of Applied Sciences. Hunt has been researching in the field of rehabilitation technology for over 20 years. "We want a bike that is easy to use and inexpensive, as well as a stimulation system so the user can cycle for several hours," explains the Briton.

In 2016 his team, still under the name IRPT/SPZ with pilot Julien Jouffroy, took part in the CYBATHLON without expectations, the bronze medal was a surprise. In 2020, the BFH team is among the medal candidates, because the pilot has evolved physically and the researchers have developed the technology further: "In the stimulation process, we split the electrodes into smaller parts, which can thus be controlled at a lower frequency. This theoretically increases performance and reduces muscle fatigue. Our trike now has an automatic transmission and the center of gravity is very low, which makes it particularly stable," Hunt enumerates. But the most important factor is the pilot and his training level. "Julien's preparation and our long experience give us a clear advantage," he is convinced.

Pilot - Julien Jouffroy (FRA)

Eight years ago, Julien Jouffroy had a traffic accident and has been paralyzed ever since. Driving a bicycle with his legs seemed utopian. But in the year of his accident he pedaled on a Trike the first time. A recumbent bike adapted to him in combination with functional electrical muscle stimulation made it possible. "Cycling brings me great health benefits and I can move around outdoors without a wheelchair," the Frenchman states. "I would like to be able to use the bike in everyday life as well. But currently I cannot ride it without help and the performance is too low for longer distances.

In 2016, Julien won the bronze medal with Team BFH (then called IRTP/SPZ), in the bike race with electro-muscle stimulation. Julien likes the competition: "I like to compete with the other teams but sharing with them means just as much to me." For two years Julien has been training daily for the CYBATHLON. And as his muscles grow, his recumbent trike is also getting better and better.

 

Get in touch

Follow this team
BFH-CybaTrike
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Julien Jouffroy

Julien Jouffroy

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    BFH-CybaTrike - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

FES / Fahrradrennen mit elektrischer Muskelstimulation

BFH-CybaTrike

SchweizSchweiz

Über das Team

Ein Bike, dass es Querschnittgelähmten möglich macht, Radtouren zu fahren, das ist das Ziel von Kenneth Hunt und seinem Team der Berner Fachhochschule. Hunt forscht seit über 20 Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Rehabilitationstechnologie. «Wir wünschen uns ein Bike, das bedienungsfreundlich und kostengünstig ist, sowie ein Stimulationsverfahren hat, welches mehrere Stunden Radfahren möglich macht» erklärt der Brite.

2016 nahm sein Team noch unter dem Namen IRPT/SPZ mit Pilot Julien Jouffroy ohne Erwartungen am CYBATHLON teil, die Bronzemedaille war eine Überraschung. 2020 gehört das Team BFH zu den Medaillenanwärtern, einerseits, weil sich der Pilot sportlich weiterentwickelt hat, anderseits haben die Forscher die Technologie verfeinert: «Im Stimulationsverfahren haben wir die Elektroden in kleinere Teile gesplittet, die man somit mit tieferer Frequenz ansteuern kann. Das erhöht theoretisch die Leistung und lässt die Muskulatur weniger schnell ermüden. Unser Trike hat jetzt ein Automatikgetriebe und der Schwerpunkt ist sehr tief, was es besonders stabil macht.», zählt Hunt auf. Der wichtigste Faktor sei aber der Pilot und dessen Trainingsstand. «Juliens Vorbereitung und unsere lange Erfahrung verschaffen uns einen klaren Vorteil», ist er überzeugt.

Pilot - Julien Jouffroy (FRA)

Vor acht Jahren hatte Julien Jouffroy einen Verkehrsunfall und ist seither querschnittgelähmt. Mit seinen Beinen ein Fahrrad anzutreiben schien utopisch. Doch noch im Jahr seines Unfalls pedalte er zum ersten Mal auf einem TrikeBike. Ein ihm angepasstes Liegerad und die elektrische Muskelstimulation machten es möglich. «Das Biken bringt mir grosse gesundheitliche Vorteile und ich kann mich im Freien ohne Rollstuhl bewegen», fasst der Franzose zusammen. «Ich würde das Bike gerne auch im Alltag einsetzen können. Aktuell kann ich aber ohne Hilfe noch nicht damit fahren und die Leistung ist zu gering für längere Strecken.»

2016 gewann Julien mit dem Team BFH, damals noch unter dem Namen IRTP/SPZ, im Radrennen mit Elektromuskelstimulation die Bronze-Medaille. Julien mag den Wettkampf: «Ich mag es, mich mit anderen Teams zu messen, aber genau so viel bedeutet mir der Austausch mit ihnen.» Seit zwei Jahren trainiert Julien täglich für den CYBATHLON. Und während seine Muskeln wachsen, wird auch sein Liege-Trike immer besser. 

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
BFH-CybaTrike
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    BFH-CybaTrike - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang