FES / Functional Electrical Stimulation Bike Race

EMA

BrazilBrazil

About the Team

EMA stands for "Empowering Mobility and Autonomy". The collaboration of the University of Brasília with engineers and clinicians arose from the desire to develop a proprietary technology that corresponds to the situation in Brazil. "CYBATHLON was an opportunity to motivate students and other stakeholders and to draw attention to us," explains team manager Roberto Baptista. The technicians and scientists are working closely with the pilot in order to consider new aspects of usability and comfort.

If Team EMA had had to finance the trip to Zurich itself and with sponsors, it would not have been able to participate in CYBATHLON 2020. The decentralized organization made necessary by the Corona pandemic brings the Brazilian team back into the game. Roberto sees several advantages: "Since we can now hold the race at our place, we are able to participate in the first place, but it also gives us and the pilot extra motivation, because our friends and families can also be there and cheer us on.

Pilot -  Estevão Carvalho Lopes

"I was at a friend's birthday party. As I was walking to my car, a bullet hit me out of nowhere. It's been seven years since I can't walk anymore," says Estevão Carvalho Lopes. Later it turned out that the bullet came from a nearby shooting that had nothing to do with him or the party.

It soon became clear that the Brazilian had to continue his life as a paraplegic and he was faced with a decision: "Am I making something out of this new situation or will I be angry about it for the rest of my life?” Estevão chose the former. "To be honest, my life, my lifestyle, is now better than before. I got into sports, I have become a Paralympic athlete and I can live on it. But above all, I have discovered my mission to bring Paralympics and similar activities for the disabled to the outside world and to motivate others to do sports". He has been on the FES bike since 2016 and has already participated in the last CYBATHLON. "My wish is to be able to ride the bike in the future without help from others."

Get in touch

Follow this team
EMA
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Estevão Carvalho Lopes

Estevão Carvalho Lopes

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    EMA - Estevão Carvalho Lopes

End of page: Go to top of page

FES / Fahrradrennen mit elektrischer Muskelstimulation

EMA

BrasilienBrasilien

Über das Team

EMA steht für “Empowering Mobility and Autonomy”, also die Förderung von Mobilität und Unabhängigkeit. Die Zusammenarbeit der Universität Brasília mit Ingenieuren und Klinikern entstand aus den Wunsch, eine eigene Technologie zu entwickeln, die der Situation in Brasilien entspricht. «Das Projekt im Rahmen des CYBATHLON war die Möglichkeit, Studierende und andere Anspruchsgruppen zu motivieren und auf uns aufmerksam zu machen», erklärt Teammanager Roberto Baptista. Um neue Aspekte der Nutzerfreundlichkeit und des Komforts berücksichtigen zu können, arbeiten die Techniker und Wissenschaftler eng mit dem Piloten zusammen.

Hätte das Team EMA die Reise nach Zürich selber und mit Sponsoren finanzieren müssen, hätte es nicht am CYBATHLON 2020 teilnehmen können. Die wegen der Corona-Pandemie nötig gewordene dezentrale Austragung bringt das brasilianische Team zurück ins Spiel. Roberto sieht mehrere Vorteile: «Da wir das Rennen nun bei uns durchführen können ist es uns einerseits möglich überhaupt teilzunehmen, andererseits gibt es uns und dem Piloten eine extra Portion Motivation, denn so können unsere Freunde und Familien ebenfalls dabei sein und uns anfeuern.»

Pilot -  Estevão Carvalho Lopes

«Ich war auf der Geburtstagsfeier eines Freundes. Als ich zum Auto ging, traf mich wie aus dem Nichts eine Kugel. Das ist nun sieben Jahre her, seit da kann ich nicht mehr gehen» erzählt Estevão Carvalho Lopes. Später stellte sich heraus, dass die Kugel von einer Schiesserei in der Nähe stammte, die nichts mit ihm oder dem Fest zu tun hatte.

Schnell war klar, dass der Brasilianer sein Leben als Paraplegiker fortführen musste und er stand vor einer Entscheidung: «Mache ich etwas aus dieser neuen Situation oder bin ich missmutig darüber?» Estevão entschied sich für Ersteres. “Ehrlich gesagt ist mein Leben, mein Lifestyle, nun besser als vorher. Ich habe zum Sport gefunden, bin Paralympic Athlet geworden und kann davon leben. Aber vor allem habe ich meine Mission entdeckt, Paralympics und ähnliche Aktivitäten für Behinderte nach aussen zu tragen und andere zu motivieren, Sport zu treiben.» Auf dem FES-Bike ist er seit 2016 unterwegs und hat bereits am letzten CYBATHLON teilgenommen. «Ich wünsche mir, das Bike künftig auch ohne fremde Hilfe fahren zu können.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
EMA
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    EMA - Estevão Carvalho Lopes

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang