EXO / Powered Exoskeleton Race

IHMC Robotics

United StatesUnited States

About the Team

The exoskeleton " Quix " is the initiative of the team IHMC Robotic of the Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition (IHMC) to enable people with lower extremity paralysis to walk again. The exoskeleton has three actuators on each leg; one each on the hip, knee and foot joints. The driven joint at the ankle is providing extra stability and safety and is considered a technological highlight. Quix has been developed since 2010 under the guidance of team manager Robert Griffin. The focus was on forward and backward movements, so the biggest challenge for the team is to master the task "Tilted Path". In the CYBATHLON 2016 they had to skip this task, but still managed to achieve second place with pilot Mark Daniel.

Pilot - Mark Daniel

"Every day I am confronted with the reality that I am paralyzed. Every day I face this reality to find comfort in my abilities and not anger in my disability – we all have disabilities and I encourage everyone to live unrestrained.” Strong and touching words from Mark, who worked many or perhaps too many hours overtime and fell asleep one night while driving home.

Mark compares his preparation for the CYBATHLON 2020 to that of a race car driver for a rally. He competed already in 2016 and finished in 2nd place. This year he wants to be among the front runners again and demonstrate how far his exoskeleton " Quix " has evolved. Mark strives to communicate to the public the barriers that a disabled person experiences in everyday life. “This competition is an opportunity to make the issue of mobility for people with disabilities widely known to the public”, he explains, “thereby we can set the course for the further development of technology.”

Get in touch

Follow this team
IHMC Robotics
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Mark Daniel

Mark Daniel

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    IHMC Robotics - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    IHMC Robotics - Mark Daniel

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    IHMC Robotics - Team Statement

End of page: Go to top of page

EXO / Parcours mit robotischen Exoskeletten

IHMC Robotics

Vereinigte StaatenVereinigte Staaten

Über das Team

Das Exoskelett “Quix” ist der Ansatz des Teams IHMC Robotic des Florida Insitute for Human and Machine Cognition (IHMC), um Personen mit einer Paralyse der unteren Extremitäten das Gehen zu ermöglichen. Das Exoskelett verfügt an jedem Bein über drei Aktuatoren; je einer am Hüft-, Knie- und Fussgelenk. Wobei speziell das angetriebene Gelenk am Knöchel als technologisches Highlight gilt und zu mehr Stabilität und Sicherheit verhilft. Quix wird seit 2010 unter der Leitung von Teammanager Robert Griffin entwickelt. Der Fokus lag auf Vorwärts- und Rückwärtsbewegungen, daher ist für das Team die Aufgabe «schräge Rampe» die grösste Herausforderung. Beim CYBATHLON 2016 mussten sie diese Teilprüfung noch auslassen, trotzdem gewann Pilot Mark Daniel die Silbermedaille.

Pilot - Mark Daniel

«Jeden Tag bin ich mit der Realität konfrontiert, dass ich gelähmt bin. Jeden Tag stelle ich mich dieser Realität, um Trost in meinen Fähigkeiten und nicht Wut in meiner Behinderung zu finden – wir alle haben Einschränkungen und ich ermutige jeden, uneingeschränkt zu leben.»

Starke und berührende Worte von Mark, der viele oder vielleicht zu viele Überstunden bei der Arbeit leistete und eines Nachts auf der Heimfahrt am Steuer einschlief.

Mark vergleicht seine Vorbereitung auf den CYBATHLON 2020 mit der eines Autorennfahrers auf eine Rallye. Schon 2016 war er dabei und belegte den 2. Rang. Auch dieses Jahr möchte er vorne mitmischen und zeigen, wie weit sich sein Exoskelett «Quix» entwickelt hat. Mark will der Bevölkerung die Barrieren, die eine behinderte Person im Alltag erlebt vermitteln. «Dieser Wettkampf ist die Gelegenheit, das Thema Mobilität von Menschen mit einer Behinderung der Öffentlichkeit bewusst zu machen», erklärt der Amerikaner, «so können wir die Weichen für die technologische Weiterentwicklung stellen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
IHMC Robotics
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    IHMC Robotics - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    IHMC Robotics - Mark Daniel

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    IHMC Robotics - Team Statement

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang