BCI / Brain-Computer Interface Race

NeuroCONCISE

United KingdomUnited Kingdom

IrelandIreland

About the Team

NeuroCONCISE is one of the more experienced teams. It participated in the 2016 CYBATHLON with pilot Owen Collumb and they also started at the BCI Series in 2019. “At both events everything went smoothly at first and Owen was in great shape, but at both races we had a technical problem. This meant we couldn't perform at our best, which was frustrating. We hope that this year everything works out and we can get the best out of ourselves," explains Damien Coyle, the team manager. NeuroCONCISE will represent the spin-off of the same name from the Intelligent Systems Research Centre at Ulster University. The team uses an EEG-based Brain-Computer Interface in which brain activity is influenced by movement perception and advanced algorithms are used to convert brain activity into control signals.

During the preparation for CYBATHLON 2020 travel restrictions to contain the spread of the corona virus are posing a major challenge, because Owen doesn’t live near the team’s base. "We are trying to prepare Owen in the best possible way with remote training. This approach has potential, but on the other hand there are also difficulties, because for example a person without a technical background has to help Owen with the training,” the team manager describes.

Pilot - Owen Collumb

Owen Collumb played basketball, table tennis and was captain of the local football team. But since a motorcycle accident in 1993 he is almost completely paralyzed from the shoulders down. "It was a difficult time in rehabilitation" Owen recounts, "but I also realized that many young people suffer a similar fate and you have to find a way to deal with it". Owen did this by supporting other disabled people: "I mainly work with children with muscle diseases. We provide accommodation and jobs, support the families and organize activities to help the children and adults with disabilities integrate into society. I like my work and enjoy it!"

The Irishman sees great potential in BCI-technology and hopes that it will be used in other areas of society in the future. But his next goal is to use it to obtain a good result at CYBATHLON. “I’m looking forward to compete with the others, to feel the competitive atmosphere during the race and I’m sure that if everything goes well technically, we can achieve a very good time.”

Get in touch

Follow this team
NeuroCONCISE
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Owen Collumb

Owen Collumb

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    NeuroCONCISE - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    NeuroCONCISE - Owen Collumb

End of page: Go to top of page

BCI / Virtuelles Rennen mit Gedankensteuerung

NeuroCONCISE

Vereinigtes KönigreichVereinigtes Königreich

IrlandIrland

Über das Team

NeuroCONCISE gehört zu den erfahrenen Teams: Schon 2016 war es mit Pilot Owen Collumb dabei und 2019 startete es in den BCI Series. «An beiden Wettbewerben lief zuerst alles reibungslos und Owen war in Bestform, doch dann hatten wir ein technisches Problem. Dadurch konnten wir nicht die beste Leistung zeigen, was frustrierend war. Wir hoffen, dass dieses Jahr alles klappt und wir das Beste aus uns herausholen können», erklärt Damien Coyle, der Teammanager. NeuroCONCISE geht für das gleichnamige Spin-off des Intelligent Systems Research Centre der Ulster University an den Start. Das Team benutzt ein EEG-basiertes Brain-Computer Interface (BCI), in welchem Gehirnaktivitäten durch Bewegungsvorstellungen beeinflusst und fortschrittliche Algorithmen zur Umwandlung von Gehirnaktivitäten in Steuersignale verwendet werden.

In der Vorbereitung auf CYBATHLON 2020 sind Reisebeschränkungen zur Eindämmung der Corona-Pandemie eine grosse Herausforderung, denn Owen lebt nicht in der Nähe der Teambasis. «Wir versuchen mit Remote-Training Owen bestmöglich vorzubereiten. Der Ansatz hat Potential, andererseits gibt es auch Schwierigkeiten, weil beispielsweise eine Person ohne technischen Hintergrund Owen beim Training helfen muss», zeigt Damien die Herausforderungen auf.

Pilot - Owen Collumb

Owen Collumb spielte Basketball, Tischtennis und war Kapitän des lokalen Fussballteams. Doch seit einem Motorradunfall 1993 ist er von den Schultern abwärts fast vollständig gelähmt. «Es war eine schwierige Zeit in der Rehabilitation» erzählt Owen «aber ich realisierte auch, dass viele junge Menschen ein ähnliches Schicksal ereilt und man einen Weg finden muss, damit umzugehen.» Owen tat dies, indem er begann, sich für andere Behinderte zu engagieren: «Hauptsächlich arbeite ich mit Kindern mit Muskelerkrankungen. Wir stellen Unterkünfte und Arbeitsplätze zur Verfügung, unterstützen die Familien und organisieren Aktivitäten, um den Kindern und Erwachsenen mit Behinderungen zu helfen, sich in die Gesellschaft zu integrieren. Ich mag meine Arbeit und geniesse mein Leben!»

Der Ire sieht grosses Potential in der BCI-Technologie und hofft, dass sie künftig auch in anderen gesellschaftlichen Gebieten eingesetzt wird. Als nächstes will er sie am CYBATHLON für ein gutes Resultat nutzen: «Ich freue mich darauf, mich mit anderen zu messen, auf die kompetitive Stimmung während des Rennens und ich weiss, wenn technisch alles gut geht, kann ich eine sehr gute Zeit erzielen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
NeuroCONCISE
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    NeuroCONCISE - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    NeuroCONCISE - Owen Collumb

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang