WHL / Wheelchair Race

Robility enhanced

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

About the Team

The former hsr enhanced team from the former University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil (HSR), now Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (OST) is an unchallenged winning team: They won the CYBATHLON 2016, the WHL Series in Japan and the CYBATHLON 2020 Global Edition with their pilot Florian Hauser and team leader Christian Bermes. Now, the team is led by Silvia Rohner and has a new pilot: the 2020 exoskeleton pilot Rolf Schoch.

About the Pilot

"I am glad to be able to do something so special again and to take part in a competition", Rolf Schoch says. His passion was motocross until an accident stopped him: "I had a fall during a race and since then I have a complete paralysis from the thoracic vertebra TH 5", explains the truck mechanic. In his free time he likes to do sports and take care of technical devices.

Rolf was the exoskeleton pilot of the VariLeg enhanced team at the CYBATHLON 2020 Global Edition. He is enthusiastic about CYBATHLON and being part of the team: "From all of us there is a lot of heart and soul in this project!"

About the Device

The team follows a modular development approach: each module of the wheelchair is developed by students in a project during their Bachelor's or Master's degree in mechanical engineering. Engineers of the Institute for Lab Automation and Mechatronics refine the approaches and create the racing wheelchair. The result: a four-wheel electric wheelchair with four-wheel drive and all-wheel steering, lowerable endless rubber chains for obstacles such as stairs and a robotic arm for opening and closing doors.

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    HSR enhanced - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    HSR enhanced - Florian Hauser

Impressions

Exoskeleton pilot gets up from the sofa chair.
Exoskeleton pilot stacks cups on the table.

Social Wall

End of page: Go to top of page

WHL / Rollstuhl-Rennen

Robility enhanced

SchweizSchweiz

Über das Team

Das ehemalige Team hsr enhanced der ehemaligen Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil (HSR) und jetzigen Ostschweizer Fachhochschule (OST) ist ein unangefochtenes Sieger-Team: Es hat den CYBATHLON 2016, die WHL Series in Japan und die CYBATHLON 2020 Global Edition mit ihrem Piloten Florian Hauser und unter der Leitung von Christian Bermes gewonnen. Nun wird das Team von Silvia Rohner geleitet und hat einen neuen Piloten: der 2020-Exoskelett-Pilot Rolf Schoch.

Über die Pilotin, den Piloten

«Ich bin froh, wieder einmal so etwas Spezielles machen zu können und an einem Wettkampf teilzunehmen», sagt Rolf Schoch. Motocross war seine Leidenschaft, bis ihn ein Unfall stoppte. «Ich hatte einen Sturz während einem Rennen und habe seit da eine komplette Lähmung ab dem Brustwirbel TH 5», erklärt der Lastwagenmechaniker. In seiner Freizeit beschäftigt er sich mit Sport und Technik.

Rolf war der Exoskelett-Pilot des Teams VariLeg enhanced an der CYBATHLON 2020 Global Edition. Er freut sich, Teil des Teams und von CYBATHLON zu sein: «Von uns allen steckt viel Herzblut in diesem Projekt!»

Über das Gerät

Das Team verfolgt einen modularen Ansatz: Jedes Modul des Rollstuhls wird von Studierenden im Rahmen deren Bachelor- oder Master-Studiums in Maschinenbau entwickelt. Ingenieure des Instituts für Laborautomation und Mechatronik verfeinern die Konzepte und bauen den Rennrollstuhl. Das Resultat ist ein vierrädriger Rollstuhl mit Allradantrieb und Allradlenkung, absenkbarer Gummiraupe für Treppen und ähnliche Hindernisse sowie einem Roboterarm, um Türen öffnen und schliessen zu können.

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    HSR enhanced - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    HSR enhanced - Florian Hauser

Impressionen

Exoskelett-Pilot steht vom Sofastuhl auf.
Exoskelett-Pilot stapelt Becher auf dem Tisch.

Social Wall

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang