EXO / Powered Exoskeleton Race

TWIICE

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

About the Team

TWIICE is a lower limb exoskeleton developed by the EPFL research group REHAssist to enable people with complete and incomplete spinal cord injury to stand up and walk once again. The project ”TWIICE” started in 2015 and since then, the project counts on the strong motivation of the pilot Silke Pan.
“The value of the exoskeleton TWIICE is in its modularity and ability to simply adapt the design for different lower limb impairments and pathologies”, says Dr. Mohamed Bouri head of the EPFL research group REHAssist. The exoskeleton allows its users to gain independence and mobility. Moreover, it aims to improve the social well-being of people with disabilities by helping them to reconnect with their community.
«Teams do not compete against each other but all together against disability» asserts the Cybathlon team leader Dr. Tristan Vouga
At the CYBATHLON 2016, TWIICE already entered the finals with their pilot Silke Pan and finished 4th. Since 2017, TWIICE has been participating in the Cybathlon Experience. Together, the athlete Silke Pan and her team have won the competition three years in a row. This experience strengthened the team and keeps on inspiring them to always improve their exoskeleton.

Pilot - Silke Pan

"The show must go on!" This motto has accompanied Silke Pan since her childhood. Gymnastics, acrobatics and dance meant the world to her, as a teenager she was in the national teams of water and trampoline jumping. But her true love was circus artistry. After graduating from the Berlin State Ballet and Artists School, she enchanted the crowds with her handstand and trapeze performances. At her dream job she met the man of her dreams, both were acrobats at the Swiss Circus Nock. But the happiness they shared was followed by a stroke of fate. During training they fell off the trapeze, Silke broke two thoracic vertebrae and was paralyzed. While still at the Nottwil Paraplegic Center, she announced: "In 15 years in show business, I have learned to keep smiling, even if it hurts inside. The show must go on, this applies more than ever before".

Silke and her husband trained as balloon artists, and she also became a world-class handbiker. In 2015, she came in second at the world championships in Nottwil––the place where she had fought for her life eight years before. In 2016 Silke took part in the CYBATHLON with a team from the ETH Lausanne, and with an exoskeleton she made her first steps since the accident. "I want to evolve personally and help drive innovation," she explains her commitment. The exoskeleton adapted to her is not yet suitable for everyday use, but Silke has a dream and is giving everything so that one day it will come true: "With the help of the exoskeleton, I want to be able to dance again.”

Get in touch

Follow this team
TWIICE
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Silke Pan

Silke Pan

The Team

Dario Mivelaz

Dario Mivelaz

Massouma Ziai

Massouma Ziai

Eva Castrillon Perez

Eva Castrillon Perez

Julien Pache

Julien Pache

Tristan Vouga

Tristan Vouga

Ali Reza Manzoori

Ali Reza Manzoori

Romain Baud

Romain Baud

Jemina Fasola

Jemina Fasola

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    TWIICE - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    TWIICE - Silke Pan

End of page: Go to top of page

EXO / Parcours mit robotischen Exoskeletten

TWIICE

SchweizSchweiz

Über das Team

TWIICE ist ein Exoskelett für die unteren Extremitäten, das von der EPFL-Forschungsgruppe REHAssist entwickelt wurde, um Menschen mit einer vollständigen und inkompletten Rückenmarkverletzung zu ermöglichen, wieder aufzustehen und gehen zu können. Das Projekt "TWIICE" startete 2015, seit Beginn zählt das Projekt auf die starke Motivation der Pilotin Silke Pan.
"Der Vorteil des Exoskeletts "TWIICE" liegt in seiner Modularität und der Fähigkeit, das Design einfach an verschiedene Beeinträchtigungen und Pathologien der unteren Extremitäten anzupassen", sagt Dr. Mohamed Bouri, Leiter der EPFL-Forschungsgruppe REHAssist. Das Exoskelett ermöglicht es seinen Benutzern, Unabhängigkeit und Mobilität zu erlangen. Darüber hinaus zielt es darauf ab, das soziale Wohlergehen von Menschen mit Behinderungen zu verbessern, indem es ihnen hilft, sich wieder mit ihrer Gesellschaft zu verbinden.
"Teams treten nicht gegeneinander an, aber alle zusammen gegen die Behinderung", versichert der Cybathlon-Teamleiter Dr. Tristan Vouga.
Beim CYBATHLON 2016 zog TWIICE bereits mit ihrer Pilotin Silke Pan ins Finale ein und belegten den 4. Platz. Seit 2017 nimmt TWIICE an der Cybathlon Experience teil. Gemeinsam haben die Athletin Silke Pan und ihr Team den Wettbewerb nun drei Jahre in Folge gewonnen. Diese Erfahrung hat das Team gestärkt und inspiriert sie immer wieder, ihr Exoskelett zu verbessern.

Pilotin - Silke Pan

«The show must go on!» Dieses Motto begleitet Silke Pan seit ihrer Kindheit. Turnen, Akrobatik und Tanz waren ihre Welt, als Jugendliche war sie in den Nationalmannschaften der Wasser- und der Trampolinspringerinnen. Ihre wahre Liebe aber war die Zirkusartistik. Nach Abschluss der Staatlichen Ballett- und Artistenschule Berlin verzauberte sie das Publikum mit ihren Handstand- und Trapezdarbietungen. Bei ihrem Traumjob lernte sie ihren Traummann kennen, beide waren Akrobaten beim Zirkus Nock. Doch auf das gemeinsame Glück folgte der Schicksalsschlag. Beim Training stürzten sie vom Trapez, Silke brach sich zwei Brustwirbel und war querschnittgelähmt. Noch im Paraplegikerzentrum Nottwil verkündete sie: «In 15 Jahren im Showbusiness habe ich gelernt, mein Lächeln zu behalten, auch wenn es innerlich schmerzt. The show must go on, das gilt mehr als je zuvor.»

Silke und ihr Mann bildeten sich zu Ballonkünstlern weiter, daneben wurde sie eine Weltklasse-Handbikerin. 2015 wurde sie in Nottwil Vize-Weltmeisterin – dort, wo sie acht Jahre davor um ihre Leben gekämpft hatte. 2016 nahm Silke mit einem Team der ETH Lausanne am CYBATHLON teil, mit einem Exoskelett machte sie ihre ersten Schritte seit dem Unfall. «Ich will mich weiterentwickeln und helfen, die Innovation voranzutreiben», begründet sie ihr Engagement. Das auf sie angepasste Exoskelett ist noch nicht alltagstauglich, aber Silke hat einen Traum und gibt alles, damit er eines Tages wahr wird: «Ich will dank des Exoskeletts wieder tanzen können.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
TWIICE
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    TWIICE - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    TWIICE - Silke Pan

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang