BCI / Brain-Computer Interface Race

WHi

ItalyItaly

About the Team

"For five years now, I have been working with our pilot Francesco. During this time, we have become close friends and he is strongly involved in our development," says team manager Luca Tonin. His team from the Intelligent Autonomous System (IAS) laboratory at the University of Padova has been developing their BCI technology since 2014/15 and has been part of the CYBATHLON from the beginning. They use a brain-computer interface based on electroencephalography (EEG). Their approach strongly relies on mutual learning in which both, user and decoder, have to learn from each other to achieve solid performance.

"Francesco and I are similar when it comes to determination. We both set our goals high and are really committed to achieving them. Our whole team is highly motivated to demonstrate our technology at the CYBATHLON. We believe in its great potential to be used in the future by people with disabilities in their everyday life, for example we hope that it will be possible to operate a cell phone or a wheelchair using BCI", concludes Luca.

Pilot - Francesco Bettella

Swimming is Francesco Bettella’s biggest passion. He began to swim at the age of three and has been competing internationally for more than 10 years – and with success: he won two silver medals at the Paralympic Games in Rio and has also qualified for the next games in Tokyo. "It makes me happy to set goals for myself and to achieve them. I like to compete and exchange with others, but also the preparation and training," says Francesco, who has been diagnosed with the genetic Charcot-Marie-Tooth-Syndrome when he was two years old. This disease causes certain nerves to degenerate, resulting in amyotrophia in the extremeties.

At CYBATHLON, Francesco is facing a challenge completely different from his sport: “Swimming is simple, I can be emotional, let my feelings out and use the adrenaline to enhance my performance. The BCI race is about staying calm and constant, giving specific commands and relaxing your muscles." he explains. Just remember how it felt to write a difficult exam in school and you can imagine how hard it is to control your thoughts in a competition situation! That is why Francesco is not only training on a replicated course, but also does relaxation exercises. The optimistic Italian is looking forward to the CYBATHLON: "I believe in the best and I will give my best!”

Get in touch

Follow this team
WHi
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Francesco Bettella

Francesco Bettella

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    WHi - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    WHi - Francesco Bettella

End of page: Go to top of page

BCI / Virtuelles Rennen mit Gedankensteuerung

WHi

ItalienItalien

Über das Team

«Seit fünf Jahren arbeite ich nun mit unserem Pilot Francesco zusammen. In dieser Zeit sind wir enge Freunde geworden, und er ist stark in unsere Entwicklung eingebunden», sagt Teammanager Luca Tonin. Sein Team des Labors Intelligent Autonomous System (IAS) der Universität von Padua entwickelt ihre BCI-Technlogie seit 2014/15 und war von Anfang an Teil des CYBATHLON. IAS und mit ihm das Team WHi nutzen ein Brain-Computer-Interface, das auf Elektroenzephalographie (EEG) basiert. «Mutual learning» spielt eine zentrale Rolle, sowohl Benutzer als auch Decoder müssen voneinander lernen, um solide Leistungen zu erzielen.

«Francesco und ich sind uns ähnlich, wenn es um die Zielstrebigkeit geht. Wir setzen uns beide hohe Ziel und engagieren uns entsprechend, um diese zu erreichen. Unser ganzes Team ist hochmotiviert unsere Technologie am CYBATHLON zu demonstrieren. Wir glauben an ihr grosses Potential und dass sie künftig auch von Menschen mit Behinderungen im Alltag eingesetzt werden kann. So hoffen wir beispielsweisse, dass man dereinst mittels BCI ein Handy oder einen Rollstuhl bedienen kann.», schliesst Luca.

Pilot - Francesco Bettella

Francescos Bettellas grosse Leidenschaft ist das Schwimmen. Bereits im Alter von drei Jahren hat er damit begonnen. Seit über 10 Jahren startet er an internationalen Wettkämpfen – und dies erfolgreich: An den Paralympischen Spielen in Rio gewann er zweimal Silber und auch für die Spiele in Tokio hat er sich qualifiziert. «Es macht mich glücklich, mir Ziele zu setzten und diese zu erreichen. Ich mag den Wettkampf, mich mit anderen zu messen und auszutauschen, aber auch die Vorbereitung und das Training.» erzählt Francesco, der seit seinem zweiten Lebensjahr am genetischen bedingten Charcot-Marie-Tooth-Syndrom leidet. Dieses lässt gewisse Nerven absterben, was zu Muskelschwund an den Extremitäten führt.

Am CYBATHLON kämpft er auf ganz andere Weise als an den paralympischen Wettkämpfen: «Beim Schwimmen ist es simpel, ich kann emotional sein, meine Gefühle rauslassen und das Adrenalin für meine Leistung nutzen. Im BCI Rennen am CYBATHLON geht es darum, ruhig und konstant zu bleiben, gezielte Befehle zu geben und die Muskeln zu entspannen.» führt er weiter aus. Man braucht bloss an Prüfungen in der Schule zu denken, um zu verstehen, wie schwer es ist, die Gedanken in einer Wettkampfsituation unter Kontrolle zu halten. Deshalb trainiert Francesco nicht nur auf einem replizierten Parcours, sondern macht auch Entspannungsübungen. Der optimistische Italiener freut sich auf den CYBATHLON: «Ich glaube an das Beste und gebe mein Bestes!»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
WHi
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    WHi - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    WHi - Francesco Bettella

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang