EXO / Powered Exoskeleton Race

Angel Robotics 2

South KoreaSouth Korea

About the Team

Angel Robotics have a mission: "We want to be the angels for those who need our technology. They shall be able to wander through life independently and autonomously". Accordingly, the team motivation and inspiration to create a potentially life-changing tool is high: "The pilots are the center of our team. Now, a short time ahead of CYBATHLON, we invest a lot of time and energy in the preparation, but when we see the development, progress and joy of our pilots, this investment is surely worthwhile and fills our hearts with happiness. We spend a lot of time with the pilots, supporting them on their path of life as mentors," explains one of the team managers Jungsu Choi.

In 2016, the team participated in CYBATHLON under the name SG Mechatronics and finished third with pilot Kim Byeong-Uk, after which the start-up Angel Robotics was founded. The team includes engineers and rehabilitation physicians. Their combined knowledge and the latest technology of both areas went into the WalkOn Suit exoskeleton. Thanks to the success at CYBATHLON four years ago, the team was able to expand and will start in 2020 with one female coached by teamleader Hanseung Woo and one male pilot managed by teamleader Jungsu Choi.

Pilot - Lee Joo-Hyun

Only at the beginning of last year, Lee Joo-Hyun had a bad car accident and suffered a complete paralysis. "At the hospital I was depressed, all of a sudden, I had no purpose or prospect anymore. To become part of Angel Robotics was a new challenge for me and the chance to develop mentally, and to socialize. The team helped me a lot to get out of the depression," says the 19-year-old student from Seoul.

It’s difficult for me to relax when I go to the park, for example, because many people stair at me which makes me feel uncomfortable," Lee explains. "I am very grateful for my family and friends who support me every day, but I also wish that I could live more independently in the future. Being part of Angel Robotics at the CYBATHLON is an unforgettable and priceless opportunity in my life!”

Get in touch

Follow this team
Angel Robotics
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Joo-Hyun Lee

Joo-Hyun Lee

The Team

Michelle Hong

Michelle Hong

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Angel Robotics 2 - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

EXO / Parcours mit robotischen Exoskeletten

Angel Robotics 2

SüdkoreaSüdkorea

Über das Team

Angel Robotics haben eine Mission: «Wir möchten die Engel für diejenigen sein, die ihre Technologie benötigen. Die Personen sollen selbstständig und unabhängig durchs Leben gehen können.» Entsprechend hoch ist die Teammotivation und Inspiration ein potentiell lebensveränderndes Hilfsmittel zu schaffen. «Die Piloten sind das Zentrum unseres Teams. Jetzt, kurz vor dem CYBATHLON, investieren wir sehr viel Zeit und Energie in die Vorbereitung. Doch wenn wir ihre Entwicklung, Fortschritte und Freude sehen, lohnt sich diese Investition allemal und erfüllt auch unser Herz mit Glück. Wir verbringen viel Zeit mit den Piloten und unterstützen sie auf ihrem Lebensweg als Mentoren.» erläutert Jungsu Choi einer der Teammanager.

2016 nahm das Team noch unter dem Namen SG Mechatronics am CYBATHLON teil und belegte mit Pilot Kim Byeong-Uk Rang 3. Daraufhin wurde das Start-up Angel Robotics Co., Ltd. gegründet. Dem Team gehören Ingenieure und Rehabilitationsärzte an. Ihr vereintes Wissen und die neuste Technologie aus beiden Gebeiten steckt im Exoskelett  WalkOn Suit. Dank des Erfolges am CYBATHLON vor vier Jahren konnte das Team erweitert werden und startet 2020 mit einer Pilotin unter der Teamleitung von Hanseung Woo und einem Piloten unter dem Management von Jungsu Choi.

Pilotin - Joo Hyun Lee

Erst zu Beginn letzten Jahres hatte Lee Joohyun einen schweren Autounfall und hat seither eine komplette Paralyse. «Im Spital wurde ich depressiv. Von einem Tag auf den anderen hatte ich keine Aufgabe und keine Perspektive mehr. Teil von Angel Robotics zu werden, war für mich eine neue Challenge und die Chance, mich mental zu entwickeln und zu sozialisieren. Das Team hat mir sehr geholfen aus der Depression zu kommen.» erzählt die 19-jährige Studentin aus Seoul.

Sich in ihrem neuen Leben zurecht zu finden ist für sie nicht immer leicht, da sie im täglichen Leben noch oft auf Barrieren trifft: «Es ist für mich schwierig mich zu entspannen wenn ich beispielsweise in den Park gehe, weil viele Menschen mich schief ansehen und ich mich dann unwohl fühle», führt Lee aus, «Ich empfinden grossen Dank für meine Familie und Freunde die mich täglich unterstützen, doch ich wünsche mir auch, dass ich zukünftig wieder unabhängiger Leben kann. Als Teil von Angel Robotics am CYBATHLON teilzunehmen, ist für mich eine unvergessliche und unbezahlbare Chance in meinem Leben!»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
Angel Robotics
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Angel Robotics 2 - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang