ARM / Arm Prosthesis Race

BFH HuCE 2.0

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

About the Team

The team of the Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) wants to succeed with new ideas. "We're curious to see how far our equipment can support our pilot Beat and how well we perform", says team manager Gerhard Kuert. The team's strength lies above all in the tactile task, which was new in the 2020 competition.

About the Pilot

"We are participating in CYBATHLON to win! If I didn't have this attitude, I wouldn't be a good sports coach", says Beat Grossen with a wink. In his free time the man from Berne is sports coach at Swiss Olympics as well as national coach of deaf sports shooters. He has been passionate about sport his whole life, enjoys being out in nature, whether it be by bike, hiking or skiing in winter. 32 years ago Beat had an explosion accident, in which he lost his left forearm and most of his hearing. "With the hearing aid I have a fairly normal hearing ability, but the device bothers me. However, I hardly notice the prosthesis I wear on my left arm, since I’m right-handed." At CYBATHLON, Beat is using a high-tech prosthesis which will make him left-handed, for the time of the competition, as the tasks have to be completed with the prosthesis. "Time is the biggest challenge. Some of the tasks require a lot of it, so I have to think strategically, which procedure works best." Beat, who is a partner in an IT company, sees the benefits of high-tech prostheses primarily for others: "It is important to further develop prosthesis technology, especially for people who are more severely impaired than I am, for example those who have lost both arms."

About the Device

To recognise the shape of an object, the team has mounted several sensors on the fingers of their arm prosthesis. Depending on what they detect, they transmit different signals to two groups of motors. One is mounted on the inside and the other on the outside of the forearm. When it vibrates on the inside, the object to be detected is rounded, when it vibrates on the outside, it’s flat.

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 5:17 pm

    BFH HuCE - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 5:18 pm

    BFH HuCE - Beat Grossen

Social Wall

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Armprothesen-Rennen

BFH HuCE 2.0

SchweizSchweiz

Über das Team

Das Team der Berner Fachhochschule (BFH) will mit neuen Ideen punkten. «Wir sind gespannt, wie weit unser Gerät unseren Piloten Beat unterstützen kann, und wie gut wir abschneiden», sagt Teammanager Gerhard Kuert. Die Stärke des Teams liegt vor allem bei der Tastsinnaufgabe, die 2020 zum ersten Mal Teil des Wettkampfs war.

Über die Pilotin, den Piloten

«Wir gehen an den CYBATHLON, um zu gewinnen! Wenn ich nicht diese Einstellung hätte, wäre ich kein guter Trainer», meint Beat Grossen mit einem Augenzwinkern. Der Berner ist in seiner Freizeit Sporttrainer bei Swiss Olympics sowie Nationaltrainer der gehörlosen Sportschützen. Sport begleitet ihn schon sein ganzes Leben, er ist gerne in der Natur unterwegs, sei es auf dem Bike, beim Wandern oder im Winter auf Ski. Vor 32 Jahren verlor er bei einem Explosionsunfall den linken Unterarm und einen grossen Teil seines Hörvermögens. «Mit dem Hörgerät höre ich einigermassen normal, doch mich stört das Gerät. Die einfache Prothese, die ich links trage, nehme ich als Rechtshänder kaum wahr», beschreibt Beat seine Situation. Am CYBATHLON verwendet er hingegen ein High-Tech-Modell, das ihn für die Zeit des Wettkampfs zum Linkshänder macht, denn die Aufgaben müssen mit der Prothese gelöst werden. «Die Zeit ist die grösste Herausforderung. Einzelne Aufgaben sind zeitaufwändig, da muss man sich strategisch überlegen, welches Vorgehen am sinnvollsten ist.» Beat, der Partner eines IT-Unternehmens ist, sieht den Nutzen von High-Tech-Prothesen vor allem für andere: «Es ist wichtig, die Prothesen-Technologie weiterzuentwickeln, speziell für Menschen, die stärker beeinträchtigt sind als ich, beispielsweise, weil sie beide Arme verloren haben.»

Über das Gerät

Um die Form eines Gegenstandes zu erkennen hat das Team mehrere Sensoren an den Fingern der Prothese montiert. Abhängig davon, was diese erkennen, leiten sie unterschiedliche Signale an zwei Motorengruppen weiter. Eine ist auf der Innenseite die andere auf der Aussenseite des Unterarmes angebracht. Wenn es an der Innenseite vibriert ist das zu erkennende Objekt abgerundet, vibriert es aussen, ist es flach.

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 5.17 Uhr

    BFH HuCE - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 5.18 Uhr

    BFH HuCE - Beat Grossen

Social Wall

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang