ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

e-OPRA

SwedenSweden

About the Team

OPRA is starting this year with two teams: e- and x-OPRA. In 2016 one team of Chalmers University in Goteborg participated and took 3rd place. "Since 2016, we have been adjusting the algorithms to improve control and movement accuracy. We have also integrated sensory feedback," explains team manager Max Ortiz Catalan.

OPRA Osseointegration is a multidisciplinary team from Chalmers University of Technology, in collaboration with Sahlgrenska University Hospital (Region Västra Götaland) and Integrum AB. Osseointegration as a medical technique has been developed in the 1960ies and initially made a name for itself with dental implants. Later, the research shifted towards prostheses and their attachment to the bone. Today, the OPRA team relies on their intelligent technology, which makes sensory feedback possible in everyday life thanks to implanted eletrodes. "Prostheses often have difficulties in their implementation in clinical use, mostly due to reliability problems. Osseointegration solves this problem and enables us to use implantable neuromuscular interfaces in everyday life. We want to help patients regain the functionality lost through amputation and thus improve their quality of life," says Max. With his team and the two pilots he wants to show what their osseointegrated prostheses are capable of.

Pilot - Magnus Niska

Magnus Niska is a Swedish nature boy who loves skiing and snowmobiling as much as the peace and quiet of fishing. He lives in Haparanda with his partner and their three children. For seven years now, he has been mastering his everyday life with his osseointegrated prosthesis with sensory feedback. “After an accident, a tumor grew in my right arm so that my forearm had to be amputated,” he describes this life-defining change.

Competing at CYBATHLON 2016 motivated and inspired him, and he was not entirely satisfied with his third place. The task with the wire loop, which had to be guided along a curved bar, was particularly difficult for him. “My prosthesis has no wrist, so I can neither turn nor flex the hand,” he explains. “I wish my next prosthesis had a motorized elbow and wrist joint”. But even without one, he goes to the CYBATHLON 2020 full of self-confidence: “I think I have a good chance this year, I want to win.”

Get in touch

Follow this team
e-OPRA
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Magnus Niska

Magnus Niska

The Team

Riccardo Collu

Riccardo Collu

Emily Pettersen

Emily Pettersen

Max Ortiz Catalan

Max Ortiz Catalan

Social Wall

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

e-OPRA

SchwedenSchweden

Über das Team

OPRA geht dieses Jahr mit zwei Teams e- und x-OPRA an den Start. 2016 war bereits ein Team von der Chalmers University in Göteborg dabei und belegte den 3. Platz. «Seit 2016 haben wir die Algorithmen angepasst, um die Kontrolle sowie die Bewegungsgenauigkeit zu verbessern. Zudem haben wir sensorisches Feedback integriert.» erklärt Teammanager Max Ortiz Catalan.

OPRA Osseointegration ist ein multidisziplinäres Team der Technischen Hochschule Chalmers in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Sahlgrenska Universitätskrankenhaus (Region Västra Götaland) und Integrum AB. Die Osseointegration wurde in den 1960er-Jahren entwickelt, und erlangte zuerst bei Zahnimplantaten Bedeutung. Später konzentrierte sich die Forschung auf Prothesen, genauer auf ihre Befestigung im Knochen. Inzwischen setzt OPRA Osseointegration auf intelligente Technologie, die mittels implantierter Elektroden ein sensorisches Feedback ermöglicht. «Prothesen haben oft Schwierigkeiten in der klinischen Anwendung, meist sind sie zu wenig zuverlässig. Osseointegration löst dieses Problem und ermöglicht es uns, implantierbare, neuromuskuläre Schnittstellen im Alltag einzusetzen. Wir wollen den Patienten helfen, die durch die Amputation verlorengegangene Funktionalität wiederzuerlangen und so ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern.» erzählt Max. Mit seinem Team und den zwei Piloten will er am CYBATHLON zeigen, was die in den Knochen implantierten Prothesen können.

Pilot - Magnus Niska

Magnus Niska ist ein schwedischer Naturbusche, der das Skilaufen und Snowmobile-Fahren ebenso liebt wie die Ruhe beim Angeln. In Haparanda lebt er mit seiner Partnerin und ihren drei Kindern. Seinen Alltag meistert er seit sieben Jahren mit seiner Osseointegrated Prothese mit sensorischem Feedback. «Nach einem Unfall ist ein Tumor im rechten Arm gewachsen, sodass mein Unterarm amputiert werden musste», fasst er diese lebensbestimmende Wende zusammen.

Der CYBATHLON 2016 hat ihn motiviert und inspiriert, mit seinem dritten Platz war er nicht ganz zufrieden. Die Aufgabe mit der Drahtschlaufe, die einer gebogenen Stange entlang geführt werden musste, war besonders schwer für ihn. «Meine Prothese hat kein Handgelenk, deshalb kann ich die Hand weder drehen noch abwinkeln», erklärt er, «Ich wünschte, meine nächste Prothese hätte ein motorisiertes Ellbogen- und Handgelenk.» Doch auch ohne geht er voller Selbstvertrauen an den CYBATHLON 2020: «Ich glaube ich habe dieses Jahr gute Chancen, ich will den ersten Platz.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
e-OPRA
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Social Wall

Videos

  • 12. Januar 2021, 3.05 Uhr

    e-OPRA - Magnus Niska

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang