ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

Hands On

ChinaChina

About the Team

“Hands On” stands for an active prosthesis and aims at giving a prosthesis to those who need one but have no access. The Chinese team Hands On represents University of Science and Technology in Shandong. CYBATHLON 2016 inspired them to start developing a forearm prosthesis. 2020 they are competing with their own device.

The prosthesis consists of a gripper-like prosthetic hand and a ring-shaped, portable control unit which the user wears on the index finger of the intact hand. "We want to produce cost-effective and lightweight prostheses using 3D printing techniques. Our goal is to develop a prosthesis that is extremely easy to use and at the same time has a reliable and effective control mechanism." explains Anrand Li, who acts as team manager at CYBATHLON 2020.

Pilot - Xinglong Li

"I am a doer and I like to build things" says Xinglong. For example, he designed his own arm prosthesis and presented it on the internet. Shortly afterwards he found and joined the team “Hands On” with which he will participate at CYBATHLON 2020. Together, they are working on a cost-effective prosthesis. The Chinese man is practising regularly for the CYBATHLON at home. "The wire loop task is difficult for me, because I am blind in my right eye, so I can hardly estimate distances," Xinlong says. He had to have his his left forearm amputated after an accident in 2014 in which he also lost his right eyesight.

"The focus of our prosthesis is on ease of use and performance, but it does not look natural. I am a salesperson and when I work I wear an optically natural prosthesis. If I don't, I feel very uncomfortable because everyone looks at me strangely.” That’s why Xinlong wishes the forearm prosthesis he helped to develop is going to look natural in the future. “Then I can use it in everyday life and benefit from its performance." he says.

Get in touch

Follow this team
Hands On
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Xinglong Li

Xinglong Li

The Team

Dieter Ebner

Dieter Ebner

Peter Schwieger

Peter Schwieger

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Hands On - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

Hands On

ChinaChina

Über das Team

«Hands On» – zu deutsch praktisch – steht für eine aktive Prothese sowie für die Absicht, denjenigen eine Prothese zu geben, die sie benötigen, aber keinen Zugang haben. Das chinesische Team Hands On startet für die Universität für Wissenschaft und Technologie in Shandong. Der CYBATHLON 2016 inspirierte sie, eine Unterarmprothese zu entwickeln. 2020 sind sie mit ihrem eigenen Modell am Start.

Die Prothese besteht aus einer zangenartigen Prothesenhand und einem ringförmigen, tragbaren Steuergerät, das der Benutzer am Zeigefinger der intakten Hand trägt. «Wir wollen kostengünstige und leichte Prothesen im 3D-Druckverfahren produzieren. Unser Ziel ist es, eine Prothese zu entwickeln, die äusserst einfach in der Handhabung ist und sich zuverlässig und effektiv kontrollieren lässt», erklärt Anran Li, der am CYBATHLON 2020 als Teammanager agiert.

Pilot - Xinglong Li

«Ich bin ein Macher und mag es Dinge zu bauen» meint Xinglong. So hat er eine eigene Armprothese entworfen und diese im Internet präsentiert, worauf er zum Team Hands On fand, mit dem er am CYBATHLON starten wird. Gemeinsam arbeiten sie seither an einer kostengünstigen Prothese. Der Chinese übt regelmässig zuhause für den Parcours. «Die Aufgabe «Drahtschlinge» ist für mich schwierig, da ich auf dem rechten Auge blind bin und deshalb die Distanz schlecht einschätzen kann.» erklärt der Chinese. 2014 musste ihm nach einem Unfall der linke Vorderarm amputiert werden und er verlor das rechte Augenlicht.

«Der Fokus unserer Prothese liegt auf guter Performance bei einfacher Nutzung. Sie sieht aber nicht natürlich aus. Bei meiner Arbeit als Verkäufer trage ich eine andere, optisch natürliche Prothese. Mit meiner «Hands on»-Prothese würde ich mich nicht wohlfühlen, weil mich die Leute komisch anschauen würden.» Deshalb wünscht sich Xinlong, dass die von ihm mitentwickelte Unteramrprothese demnächst ebenfalls einen natürlichen Look erhält, «Dann könnte ich sie im Alltag nutzen und von ihrer Performance profitieren.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
Hands On
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Hands On - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang