ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

Maker Hand

CroatiaCroatia

About the Team

One morning, industry design student Andrej Đukić was laying in bed, hurting so badly, that he was unable to get up. The reason was a post-traumatic arthritis in his right ankle and right wrist. During that time, the young Croatian was looking for a project for his master’s thesis. “I thought about designing a prosthetic leg, but I realized that if I could not use both my arms, I would not be able to build it,” he recalls, “That was my motivation to build an extremely affordable, 3D-printable arm prosthesis whose main purpose would be extensive functionality." Andrej baptised his prosthesis Maker Hand, CYBATHLON 2016 inspired him to give it all functions needed for this competition.

Andrei's approach is unique, as he says himself: “I don’t try to replicate the human hand which, I believe, current technology is not capable of. Instead, I try to provide users with the greatest possible functionality by a simplified prosthetic hand, a so-called prehensor.” To democratize the access to technology is another goal of his: “I want to offer a functioning solution to people who are missing an extremity without burdening them financially. I did so by using inexpensive materials and 3D-printing. It is an open-source project, so everyone has access and can theoretically build the prosthesis by herself or himself for very little money." Andrej explains.

Pilot - Krunoslav Mihic

"Honestly, I was happy to be invited to become part of Maker Hand. I like the competition and would like to help Andrei present his project. I always want to be first, that's just the way I am," says Krunoslav Mihic. The Croatian has lost his right hand in an accident five years ago. Since summer 2020, he uses the Marker Hand, with which he will participate in CYBATHLON, also in his private life. At home he is training every day for the contest. "After the accident it was difficult at first, to deal with the strange looks of other people. Some of them looked at me as if I was some kind of alien. But I am satisfied with the prosthesis, it’s light, has a good grip and allows me to use the remaining freedom of movement of my forearm," says Krunoslav.

Get in touch

Follow this team

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Krunoslav Mihic

Krunoslav Mihic

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Maker Hand - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

Maker Hand

KroatienKroatien

Über das Team

Eines Morgens lag der Industriedesign-Student Andrej Đukić im Bett und konnte vor Schmerz nicht aufstehen. Eine posttraumatische Arthritis im rechten Knöchel und dem rechten Handgelenk lähmte den Kroaten, der in jener Zeit ein Projekt für seine Master-Arbeit suchte. «Ich überlegte mir, eine Beinprothese herzustellen, doch mir wurde klar, dass ich das nicht schaffen würde, wenn ich nicht beide Arme benutzen konnte. Dies motivierte mich, eine extrem erschwingliche, 3D-druckbare Armprothese zu bauen, deren Hauptzweck eine möglichst umfangreiche Funktionalität sein sollte.» Andrej gab ihr den Namen Maker Hand. Der CYBATHLON 2016 inspirierte ihn, ihr die Funktionen zu geben, die es für den Wettbewerb braucht.

Andrejs Ansatz ist speziell, weil er nicht versucht, die menschliche Hand nachzubilden. «Ich glaube, dass die aktuelle Technologie dazu nicht in der Lage ist. Stattdessen versuche ich, Nutzern mit einer vereinfachten prothetischen Hand, einem Prehensor, eine möglichst grosse Funktionalität zu bieten», legt Andrej seinen Ansatz dar. Ihm geht es aber auch darum, den Zugang zu Technologie zu demokratisieren. «Ich will Menschen, denen Gliedmassen fehlen, eine funktionierende Lösung zu bieten, ohne sie finanziell zu belasten. Ich nutzte günstiges Material und setzte in der Produktion auf 3D-Druck. Es ist ein Open-Source-Projekt, so hat jeder Zugriff und kann die Prothese theoretisch selber für sehr wenig Geld bauen.» führt Andrej aus.

Pilot - Krunoslav Mihic

«Ehrlich gesagt, machte es mich glücklich, eingeladen zu werden, Teil von Maker Hand zu werden. Ich mag den Wettkampf und möchte Andrej helfen sein Projekt zu präsentieren. Ich will immer der Erste sein, so bin ich einfach», meint Krunoslav Mihic. Der Kroate hatte vor fünf Jahren einen Unfall, bei dem er seine rechte Hand verlor. Seit dem Sommer 2020 nutzt er die Prothese auch privat, mit der er am CYBATHLON teilnehmen wird. Zuhause trainiert er täglich für den Wettbewerb. «Nach dem Unfall war es am Anfang schwierig, mit den schrägen Blicken der Leute umzugehen, einige sahen mich an, als wäre ich eine Art Alien», sagt der Vater von zwei Kindern. Doch für ihn überwiegen die Vorteile der eher technisch aussehenden Prothese: «Ich bin sehr zufrieden damit. Sie ist leicht, hat einen guten Grip und erlaubt mir, die verbliebene Bewegungsfreiheit meines Unterarms zu nutzen.»

 

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen

Team teilen

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Maker Hand - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang