BCI / Brain-Computer Interface Race

Mirage91

AustriaAustria

About the Team

Team Mirage91 has already participated in CYBATHLON 2016. How long research on BCI technology has been going on at the Graz University of Technology is reflected in the team name: It stands for Mind Racing Graz Established 1991. The BCI Lab was founded in 2014 and since then numerous students have been working on partial aspects of the system as part of their bachelor or master thesis and have continuously improved it. Team manager Lea Hehenberger explains: "It’s a very good project for the students to gain experience in the BCI field. Training together with the pilot is a valuable experience and the increased media presence will also bring the topic closer to the public".

Thinking of CYBATHLON 2020 and the new game that will be played, Lea sees the timing in the "HEADLIGHT zone” as a special challenge, because the pilot there has to react as quickly as possible to changing environmental conditions with the right command. Even for experienced teams, the tasks of CYBATHLON are not getting any easier.

Pilot - Pascal Prietl

“To control a computer game with my thoughts? Sounds exciting.” That’s what Pascal Prietl thought, when a doctor asked him in a rehabilitation center. “After the first contact with the team, we really got going. Since March 2019, I have been training with the team regularly at the university or at my home,” recounts the Austrian. “First we tried out different paradigms to find the right mental tasks for me. We have a lot of fun as a team, our relationship is great. And it's great fun to play the game!" Thirteen years ago, Pascal had a traffic accident and since then is paralyzed from his neck down. "The doctors' prognosis regarding independent breathing, motor function and sensory perception was not promising. I’m very happy I can say today that my recovery compared to my first diagnosis was excellent – as a result, I have gained more independence in everyday life".

Get in touch

Follow this team
Mirage91
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Pascal Prietl

Pascal Prietl

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    Mirage91 - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

BCI / Virtuelles Rennen mit Gedankensteuerung

Mirage91

ÖsterreichÖsterreich

Über das Team

Team Mirage91 war schon 2016 am CYBATHLON dabei. Wie lange an der Technischen Universität schon an der BCI-Technologie geforscht wird, steckt im Teamnamen: Dieser steht für Mind Racing Graz Established 1991. Das BCI Lab wurde 2014 gegründet, seither haben sich zahlreiche Studierende im Rahmen ihrer Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit mit Teilaspekten des Systems beschäftigt und dieses stetig verbessert. Teammanagerin Lea Hehenberger führt aus: «Es ist ein sehr gutes Projekt für die Studenten, um Erfahrungen im BCI-Feld zu gewinnen. Zusammen mit dem Piloten zu trainieren, ist eine wertvolle Erfahrung und durch die erhöhte Medienpräsenz wird das Thema auch der Öffentlichkeit nähergebracht.»

Als besondere Herausforderung beim neuen Spiel am CYBATHLON 2020 sieht Lea das Timing in der «HEADLIGHT Zone», da der Pilot dort möglichst schnell auf sich verändernde Umweltbedingungen mit dem richtigen Kommando reagieren muss. Auch für erfahrene Teams werden die Aufgaben des CYBATHLON nicht einfacher.

Pilot - Pascal Prietl

«Mit meinen Gedanken ein Computerspiel steuern? Klingt spannend», dachte sich Pascal Prietl, als ihm eine Ärztin im Rehabilitationszentrum dies vorschlug. «Nach dem ersten Kontakt mit dem Team haben wir richtig losgelegt, seit März 2019 trainiere ich regelmässig an der Uni oder bei mir Zuhause», erzählt der Österreicher. «Zuerst haben wir verschiedene Paradigmen ausprobiert, um die richtigen mentalen Aufgaben für mich zu finden. Es macht riesigen Spass das Spiel zu spielen!» Vor dreizehn Jahren hatte Pascal einen Verkehrsunfall und ist seither vom Hals an abwärts gelähmt. «Die Prognose der Ärzte in Bezug auf selbständige Atmung, Motorik und Sensorik war nicht vielversprechend. Ich bin sehr froh, dass ich heute sagen kann, dass mein Fortschritt im Vergleich zu meiner ersten Diagnose hervorragend war – dadurch habe ich im Alltag mehr Selbstständigkeit gewonnen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
Mirage91
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    Mirage91 - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang