FES / Functional Electrical Stimulation Bike Race

PULSE Racing

NetherlandsNetherlands

About the Team

People with paraplegia do not only have a walking disability and general limitation of mobility, they are also confronted with other problems such as circulatory problems or increased risk of pressure sores. PULSE Racing wants to address this topic: "By participating in the CYBATHLON we want to make FES better known and above all motivate affected people to use FES,” explains Sterre de Groot, team leader of PULSE Racing.

The Dutch team consists of a group of annually alternating students from the VU University in Amsterdam. The team was founded by students from the Department of Human Movement Science but has since been expanded with students from the fields of mechanical engineering, electrical engineering and marketing. PULSE Racing is participating for the first time at the CYBATHLON, the bike has been supplied by Dutch manufacturer BerkelBike. Sterre de Groot sums up the strengths of his team: "We apply new ideas from the movement sciences to improve FES cycling. We tested different electrode configurations and other stimulation parameters based on muscle characteristics. The combination of movement science and technology makes us special."

Pilot - Sander Koomen

"I was or rather am a fanatical cyclist," says the Dutchman from West Frisia. At the age of 20, after successfully completing his MTS mechanical engineering studies, he started working in installation technology. In addition, sports, especially cycling and running, were his daily activities. Then came the stroke of fate: He fell at a bicycle race and injured his spinal cord so badly that he was left paraplegic.

In order to counter complications such as pressure sores, Sander got in contact with BerkelBike and learned that FES cycling could give him the opportunity to continue his passion in another form. He received a Berkelbike from the state, which he has been using privately since 2015. Around three times a week he trains for the CYBATHLON. "The CYBATHLON is an inspiration for me as well as a chance to exchange ideas and get to know new people and technologies. In my eyes our greatest strength is our team spirit and the support of the students.”

Get in touch

Follow this team
PULSE Racing
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Sander Koomen

Sander Koomen

The Team

Nardus Demmers

Nardus Demmers

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    PULSE Racing - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

FES / Fahrradrennen mit elektrischer Muskelstimulation

PULSE Racing

NiederlandeNiederlande

Über das Team

Menschen mit einer Paraplegie haben nicht nur eine Gehbehinderung und generelle Einschränkung der Beweglichkeit, sie sind auch mit anderen Problemen wie Durchblutungsstörungen oder erhöhtem Dekubitusrisiko konfrontiert. Dieses Thema will PULSE Racing ansprechen: «Durch die Teilnahme am CYBATHLON wollen wir FES bekannter machen und vor allem betroffene Personen dazu motivieren FES zu nutzen», erklärt Brigit Kaman, Managerin des Teams PULSE Racing.

PULSE Racing besteht aus einer Gruppe jährlich wechselnder Studierenden der VU University in Amsterdam. Gegründet wurde das Team von Studierenden des Departements für Bewegungswissenschaft. Inzwischen kamen Studierende aus den Bereichen Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik und Marketing dazu. Das FES Bike kommt von der niederländischen Firma BerkelBike. PULSE Racing ist zum ersten Mal am CYBATHLON dabei. Brigit ist überzeugt, gute Karten zu haben: «Wir wenden neue Ideen der Bewegungswissenschaften an, um das FES-Biken zu verbessern. Während der Entwicklung untersuchten wir verschiedene Elektrodenkonfigurationen und andere Stimulationsparameter auf der Grundlage von Muskeleigenschaften. Die Kombinationen zwischen Bewegungswissenschaft und Technik macht uns zu etwas Besonderem.»

Pilot - Sander Koomen

«Ich war oder besser gesagt bin ein fanatischer Radfahrer.» betont der Holländer aus Westfriesland. Im Alter von 20 Jahren hatte er nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des MTS-Maschinenbau Studiums begonnen, in der Installationstechnik zu arbeiten. Daneben trieb er täglich Sport, vor allem Radfahren und Laufen. Dann der Schicksalsschlag: Bei einem Sturz an einem Radrennen verletzte er sich das Rückenmark schwer und war von da an querschnittgelähmt.

Um Komplikationen wie beispielsweise Dekubitus entgegenzuwirken kam Sander mit BerkelBike in Kontakt und erfuhr, dass ihm FES die Möglichkeit gibt, seine Leidenschaft in anderer Form fortzuführen. Vom Staat erhielt er ein BerkelBike, dass er seit 2015 privat nutzt. Rund dreimal pro Woche trainiert er damit für den CYBATHLON. «Der CYBATHLON ist für mich inspirierend und eine Möglichkeit mich austauschen, neue Menschen und Technologien kennenzulernen. Unsere grösste Stärke ist in meinen Augen der Teamzusammenhalt und der Support der Studierenden.», führt Sander aus

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
PULSE Racing
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    PULSE Racing - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang