WHL / Powered Wheelchair Race

RT-Movers

JapanJapan

About the Team

RT-Movers stands for "Rough Terrain Mover" – a four-wheeled wheelchair that drives similar to a car and has the ability to move stably and quickly but using little energy. Team manager Shuro Nakajima explains: “Our goal is to help create the mobility of the future. With our technology, everyone can enjoy the freedom of mobility, including the disabled and the elderly”.

Team RT-Movers from Wakayama University in Japan will start at CYBATHLON for the second time. In 2016 they reached the finals and finished 4th, but with a different pilot than this year. “Over the last four years we have installed a robotic arm and made other specifications. We are happy to be part of it again and to expand our network with like-minded people." concludes Shuro.

Pilot – Morita Masanori

35 years ago, Morita Masanori had an accident and since then has a complete paraplegia, his left hand is partially paralized. Recently, the vision of his left eye has also started to deteriorate. Despite all that, he never lost his zest for life: “I prefer to focus on the advantages of the future rather than the disadvantages for people with physical disabilities.” says the father of three who lives with them and his wife in Wakayama in the south of Japan. In December 2019 he got to know RT-Mover’s electrical wheelchair. "The technology impressed me, and I thought this is going to be an exciting experience. With our wheelchair, I can experience beautiful and challenging things which were beyond my imagination before”, Morita enthuses, “I’m looking forward to the competition. I train twice a week on the replicated course and I know that if I perform well and avoid careless mistakes, we have a good chance to be on the podium.”

Get in touch

Become a fan of this team!
RT-Movers
Visit website

Share this team

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    RT-Movers - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

WHL / Parcours mit motorisierten Rollstühlen

RT-Movers

JapanJapan

Über das Team

RT-Movers steht für “Rough Terrain Mover” – ein vierrädriger Rollstuhl der ähnlich wie ein Auto fährt und die Fähigkeit besitzt, sich mit geringem Energieaufwand stabil und dennoch schnell zu bewegen. Der Teammanager Shuro Nakajima erklärt: «Unser Ziel ist es, die Mobilität der Zukunft mitzugestalten. Durch unsere Technologie kann jeder die Freiheit der Mobilität geniessen, auch Beeinträchtigte oder alte Menschen.»

Das Team RT-Movers von der Wakayama Universität in Japan wird zum zweiten Mal am CYBATHLON starten. 2016 zogen sie ins Finale ein und belegten den 4. Platz, damals noch mit einem anderen Piloten. «In den letzten vier Jahren haben wir den Robotic Arm installiert und andere Spezifikationen vorgenommen. Wir freuen uns wieder dabei zu sein und unser Netzwerk um weitere Gleichgesinnten zu erweitern.» schliesst Shuro.

Pilot – Morita Masanori (JPN)

Morita Masanori hatte vor 35 Jahren einen Unfall und erlitt eine komplette Paraplegie, zudem ist seine linke Hand teilweise gelähmt und seit kurzem lässt das Sehvermögen seines linken Auges nach. Seinen Lebensmut liess er sich davon nicht nehmen: «Ich konzentriere mich Lieber auf die Vorteile der Zukunft, als auf die Nachteile, die Menschen mit physischen Beeinträchtigungen haben», erzählt der Vater von drei Kindern, der mit diesen und seiner Frau in Wakayama im Süden Japans lebt. Im Dezember 2019 lernte er den motorisierten Rollstuhl von RT Movers kennen. «Die Technologie beindruckte mich, und ich dachte, das ist spannend. Mit unserem Rollstuhl kann ich schöne und herausfordernde Dinge tun, die bisher jenseits meiner Vorstellung lagen», freut sich Morita, «Ich freue mich auf den Wettkampf. Ich trainiere zwei Mal wöchentlich auf dem nachgebauten Parcours. Ich weiss, wenn ich eine gute Leistung zeige und Flüchtigkeitsfehler vermeide, haben wir gute Chancen, ganz vorne zu landen.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
RT-Movers
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    RT-Movers - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang