BCI / Brain-Computer Interface Race

SEC FHT

SwitzerlandSwitzerland

SingaporeSingapore

About the Team

"We are excited to find out how much we can push our algorithms forward to make our pilot successful. Moreover, it’s a unique opportunity for us to work closely with a quadriplegic and achieve something beyond science." says Rea Lehner who manages Team SEC FHT. The acronym stands for the Singapore-ETH Centre and its new research program Future Health Technologies, which has been launched in March this year. The team, formed in January 2018, is a collaboration between School of Computer Science and Engineering at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore and the Neural Control of Movement Lab at ETH Zurich.

"Our different backgrounds, enthusiasm for research and the need to train our brain and algorithms make us unique." says team manager Rea. The team uses a Brain-Computer-Interface (BCI) based on electroencephalography (EEG) from Brain Products. She points to where this could lead: “Although the engineering and neurosciences are far from ready, we are thinking about the vision of using BCI to give commands to non-invasive mobile technologies to operate aids such as smartphones or wheelchairs.

Pilot - Samuel Kunz

"In 2016 I was a spectator at CYBATHLON, and now I have the chance to start as a pilot myself this year," Samuel Kunz says. Six years ago, the mechanical engineer had an accident and has been a quadriplegic since then.

He uses electroencephalography (EEG) in the BCI race and he trains once a week for about three hours. "The most difficult thing is to stay calm and not to get nervous. For everything to work out I mustn’t think about anything else but the race. One of my wishes is soon to be able to play a real game just with my thoughts," says Samuel and adds, "Currently, the system is not portable and user-friendly. The encoding of brain activity still has much room for improvement. Nevertheless, I see many great possibilities how the system could be integrated into everyday life, you could control almost all technical devices with BCI-technology."

Get in touch

Follow this team
SEC FHT
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Samuel Kunz

Samuel Kunz

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    SEC FHT - Team Portrait

End of page: Go to top of page

BCI / Virtuelles Rennen mit Gedankensteuerung

SEC FHT

SchweizSchweiz

SingapurSingapur

Über das Team

«Wir sind gespannt, wie sehr wir unsere Algorithmen vorantreiben können, um unseren Piloten erfolgreich zu machen. Darüber hinaus ist es für uns eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, eng mit einem Tetraplegiker zusammenzuarbeiten und über die Wissenschaft hinaus etwas zu erreichen», erzählt Rea Lehner, die das Team SEC FHT leitet. Die Abkürzung steht für das Singapore ETH Center und dessen Forschungsprogramm Future Health Technologies (FHT), weilches im März diesen Jahres lanciert wurde. Das im Januar 2018 gebildete Team ist eine Kollaboration zwischen der School of Computer Science and Engineering an der Nanyang Technological University in Singapur und dem Neural Control of Movement Lab der ETH Zürich.

«Unser unterschiedlicher Hintergrund, der Enthusiasmus für die Forschung und das Bedürfnis unser Gehirn und die Algorithmen zu trainieren macht uns einzigartig.» meint Teammanagerin Rea Lehner. Das Team verwendet ein auf Elektroenzephalografie (EEG) basiertes BCI des Herstellers Brain Products. Wohin die Reise gehen könnte, deutet Teammanagerin Lea an: «Auch wenn die Technik und die Neurowissenschaften noch lange nicht soweit sind, denken wir an die Vision, durch BCI nicht invasiven mobilen Technologien Befehle zu erteilen, um Hilfsmittel wie Smartphones oder Rollstühle zu bedienen.

Pilot - Samuel Kunz

«2016 wollte ich als Zuschauer am CYBATHLON dabei sein, dann kam die Chance dieses Jahr selbst als Pilot zu starten.» erzählt Samuel Kunz. Vor sechs Jahren hatte der Maschineningenieur einen Unfall und ist seither Tetraplegiker.

Das BCI-Rennen bestreitet er und mithilfe von Elektroenzephalografie (EEG), Samuel trainiert einmal wöchentlich für rund drei Stunden. «Das Schwierigste ist, ruhig zu bleiben und nicht nervös zu werden. Damit alles klappt, darf ich an nichts anderes als das Rennen denken. Ein Wunsch von mir ist, bald ein richtiges Game nur mit meinen Gedanken spielen zu können,» sagt Samuel und ergänzt, «aktuell ist das System nicht portabel und benutzerfreundlich. Die Enkodierung der Hirnaktivität hat noch grosses Verbesserungspotential. Trotzdem sehe ich viele grossartige Möglichkeiten, wie das System im Alltag integriert werden könnte. Theoretisch kann man mit BCI-Technologie fast alle technischen Hilfsmittel steuern.»

Kontakt aufnehmen

Werde Fan dieses Teams!
SEC FHT
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

CYBATHLON Resultate

Team

Rennen 1

Rennen 2

Rennen 3


Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    SEC FHT - Team Portrait

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang