ARM / Powered Arm Prosthesis Race

SoftHand Pro

ItalyItaly

About the Team

The active prosthesis SoftHand Pro is very soft and light, which makes it comfortable to wear. The different drives are connected by tendons, which create fluid movements and allow a flexible and adaptable grip.

SoftHand has been developed since 2012 by the team carrying the same name at the Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia and the Centro E. Piaggio of the University of Pisa. "As the prototype became more widely known, we received an increasing number of inquiries from people with amputations who wanted to use the hand. The team saw the potential for SoftHand to make a significant contribution to an underserved population and began the development of SoftHand Pro. Their goal at the time was to develop a prosthesis that was robust, reliable and easy to control." recalls team manager Cristina Piazza. As a next step, the researchers plan to integrate an active wrist to increase the versatility and possibilities of use. But first, they want to succeed at CYBATHLON with Maria Rosanna Fossati.

Pilot - Maria Rosanna Fossati

Maria was born without a left forearm and has been using passive prostheses since she can remember. She first came into contact with SoftHand Pro as a tester, but soon she became part of the team. She has a Ph.D. in design and is contributing to the future of prostheses as a researcher. "SoftHand Pro is unique, I’m proud to have the opportunity to use it! The prosthesis is designed for intuitive use and allows me to interact socially. I want to challenge and experience the potential of the prosthesis." explains the Italian who lives with her family in Milan.

Maria trains several times a week for the CYBATHLON on a replicated course, “The biggest challenge for me is to stay calm during the competition and not to give in to pressure and stress.” If she manages to do this, she could win the gold medal, since, at the ARM Series in Karlsruhe she already came in second.

Get in touch

Follow this team
SoftHand Pro
Visit website

Get Social

CYBATHLON Results

Team

Race 1

Race 2

Race 3


The Pilots

Maria Rosanna Fossati

Maria Rosanna Fossati

Social Wall

Videos

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    SoftHand Pro - Team Portrait

  • November 13th 2020, 12:00 am

    SoftHand Pro - Maria Fossati

End of page: Go to top of page

ARM / Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen

SoftHand Pro

ItalienItalien

Über das Team

Die aktive Prothese SoftHand Pro ist sehr weich und leicht, wodurch sie angenehm zu tragen ist. Ihre verschiedenen Antriebe sind durch Sehnen verbunden, die flüssige Bewegungen und einen flexiblen, anpassbaren Griff erlauben.

Entwickelt wird SoftHand seit 2012 vom gleichnamigen Team des Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia und dem Centro E. Piaggio der Universität Pisa. «Als der Prototyp bekannter wurde, erhielten wir vermehrt Anfragen von Personen mit Amputationen, die die Hand nutzen wollten», erinnert sich Teammanagerin Cristina Piazza, «wir sahen das Potenzial mit SoftHand, einen bedeutenden Beitrag für die Gesellschaft zu leisten, was uns motivierte SoftHand Pro zu entwickeln. Unser Ziel war eine Prothese, die robust, verlässlich und einfach zu kontrollieren ist.» Als nächstes wollen die Forschenden ein aktives Handgelenkt integrieren, um die Vielseitigkeit und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten zu erhöhen. Doch zuerst wollen sie mit Maria Rosanna Fossati am CYBATHLON reüssieren.

Pilotin - Maria Rosanna Fossati

Maria Rosanna Fossati wurde ohne linken Vorderarm geboren, deshalb nutzte sie seit sie sich erinnern kann eine passive Prothese – eine, die sie nicht bewegen kann. Mit SoftHand Pro kam sie zuerst als Testerin in Kontakt, doch schon bald wurde sie Teil des Teams. Selber forscht die Italienerin mit Doktortitel in Design am Politecnico di Milano an der Zukunft der Prothesen. «SoftHand Pro ist einzigartig, ich bin Stolz die Möglichkeit zu haben, sie zu nutzen! Die Prothese ist auf eine intuitive Nutzung ausgelegt und ermöglicht mir soziale Interaktion. Ich will das Potential der Prothese herausfordern und erleben.» erklärt Rosanna, die mit ihrer Familie in Milano lebt.

Maria trainiert mehrmals wöchentlich für den CYBATHLON auf einem nachgebauten Parcours. «Die grösste Herausforderung ist für mich, während dem Wettkampf ruhig zu bleiben und dem Druck und Stress nicht nachzugeben.» Wenn sie dies schafft, könnte die Goldmedaille winken. An den ARM Series in Karlsruhe hat sie bereits den 2. Rang belegt.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Diesem Team folgen
SoftHand Pro
Webseite besuchen

Team teilen

Social Wall

Videos

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    SoftHand Pro - Team Portrait

  • 13. November 2020, 12.00 Uhr

    SoftHand Pro - Maria Fossati

Seitenende: Gehe zum Anfang